Chicken Sweet Potato Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
My husband and I are about to endure a 30 day cut diet, so with a few modifications, this will be one of the recipes. I toasted slivered almonds, used ground sage (about 1 tbsp); used three thinned chicken breasts and substituted one apple (which will likely fall out once the diet starts, though shouldn't alter the taste greatly). Also, if you don't add some olive oil during the browning of the sweet potatoes, they will get destroyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Green apples instead of pear works wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I couldn't find toasted hazelnuts :(. So we had nothing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This was great with some sophistication for date night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Good flavors, but I felt like it was missing some depth. I'll add more whiskey next time and maybe chicken stock instead of water. Wait on adding the pears until just before serving or they start to break down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I hate when people rate recipes after they've altered it, but I'm sure the original is just as good, if not better, than the version I made. Based on what I had on hand, I used granny smith apples instead of pears, omitted the whiskey, and used toasted almonds instead of hazelnuts. It was delicious! Next time I will make it as written to see which version is better, but I'll leave the chicken out because I don't think it adds anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I doubled the recipe and used leftover cooked chicken. I even made sure to buy hazelnuts for this and toasted them which was very easy to do. This recipe was delicious and a good way of getting a lot of healthy items into my hubbys diet in one dish. Spinach cooked down so much that even more could be added without overpowering the taste of this lovely hash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I didn't have spinach so added leeks and mushrooms instead. Very tasty! The pear and sage make a lovely difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I changed a few things... use apples instead of pears as that was all I had, used Jack Daniels instead of Irish Whiskey, walnuts instead of hazelnuts and used chicken boullion instead of just water. I also tripled the whiskey amount, as my husband and I both love the taste of whiskey and the dish was not overpoweringly whiskey tasting. It was perfect! Absolutely will make again, especially in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Made this tonight on a whim to use some sweet potatoes I had. I used some drumsticks instead just because I had them and it was great. It was delicious! I would however make a few adjustments next time. I loved the pears and would add another. I would also double the spinach, since it cooks down so much. Other than that - fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States