Chicken Suiza Cornbread Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I made this for the first time, making a few changes according to what I read in the pervious reviews. I put in two eggs instead of the egg substitute, and I only put in 1/2 cup sour cream. I then added a can of cream of chicken soup, and a chopped jalapeno for added kick. Delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
This recipe is SO good! I was skepitcal when I put it all together, but it turned out fantastic. I drained the whole kernal corn (it doesn't say to on the recipe), used a little less butter (6 tblsp), used 2 eggs instead of substitute, my cornbread mix was only 7.5 oz, I used the whole can of diced chiles (about 4oz), fresh mushrooms and light sour cream instead of nonfat. My family loved this, and the leftovers are great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
tHIS IS VERY GOOD,MY WHOLE FAMILY LIKE IT...BUT AS OTHERS CHANGE TO ONLY 1/2 CUP SOUR CREAM,USE TWO EGGS AND 1 CAN OF CREAM OF CHICKEN SOUP..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was awesome! My husband said, "I can't stop eating this!," and my two four-year-olds both loved it. The way I made it was pretty true to the recipe, except that I substituted a can of pinto beans (drained and rinsed) for the mushrooms, and I did not use the creamed corn. I prebaked the cornbread base for 10 minutes, and it turned out perfectly, not at all soggy. The cooking time for the assembled dish was then only 30 minutes. I will definitely be making this again (and again and again...)! Thanks for such a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
My Fiance and I loved this. I cut it in half since it was just for the two of us. I added one regular egg, used canned white chicken, doubled the green chile peppers, ommitted the mushrooms, added a chopped red pepper, sprinkled cayenne pepper on top and used shredded mexican cheese. Oh, and the best part...I added chopped jalepeno. It was spicy and delicious!! Not bland whatsoever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Bishop Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
Unless you have pre-cooked chicken on hand ... what a pain! I went to store and bought a chicken, followed "boiled chicken" recipe on this site (by the way, very good recipe); then started this meal when chicken was ready. At that point had already spent 2 hours on this meal! Anyway, I took other reviewers advice and changed the following ... 2 eggs instead of egg substitute, 1/2 cup & a big spoonful more of sour cream instead of 1 1/2, added a can of cream of chicken soup, used 2 1/2 tbl of diced green chiles & added a finely chopped jalapeno. The mushrooms were good, but next time may consider cutting in half. Unfortanatley, I picked up reduced fat jack cheese by mistake. Was like shredding plastic! Used a box of "Jiffy" cornbread mix. Unless you have helpers, prep time is more like 1/2 hour. When it was finally out of the oven (3 hours later - cuz of cooking fresh chicken) - was very tasty, but needed something more. Still can't figure out what. Anyway, much to my surprise, reheated next day & was the bomb! Some casseroles just need a day to mesh. All in all, very good recipe, very inventive & am very impressed! Just make sure you use whole jack cheese! Oh yeah, a nice salad & some hot bread would go great with this meal. Would not suggest a vegetable, rice or anything like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Yummie!! Everyone here loved it. I didn't add the mushrooms and used one can of mexican corn. But I did add the cream of chicken soup, half a can of rotel, shredded cheddar and montery jack cheese. I used regular sour cream and eggs. Thought maybe the cornbread mixture needed some more liquid, but it was browned on the edges and just right on the inside. Would make again...Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Maksymiw
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This is a great recipe. Quick and easy to prepare. The only change I made was to use a cooked chicken. Family really enjoyed it, serve with a side salad. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
This is so good, we ate the leftovers for breakfast the next morning. I used 2 eggs instead of egg substitute and Jiffy cornbread mix like others suggested. Yum-my!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
I loved this recipe! I used an 8 oz package of fresh mushrooms (sauteed with onion), added about 1/4 cup of olives and sprinkled red pepper flakes in both the chicken mixture and the cornbread mixture (since other reviews said in needed some added heat). Would definately increase the amount of green chilis next time. This recipe is going into rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States