Chicken Suiza Cornbread Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was great! Based on the original Jiffy Spoon Bread Casserole I put 1 cup of the sour cream in the cornmeal mixture and the rest of the 16 ounce container in the chicken mixture. Because we don't like real hot foods, I left out the chile peppers and added chopped tomatoes, chopped bell pepper and taco seasoning. I didn't have any margarine, onions, or mushrooms so those got left out, but it turned out fantastic anyway. The only problem I have is for just two of us, it makes way too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Next time I will add a jalapeno and a bell pepper for more flavor. It was good, but pretty sweet, and would benefit from some heat. I'm also going to try baking the cornbread mixture first and then adding the chicken mixture so it gets a little less soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
We've made this recipe many, many times and its great every time! Its one of our fail-safe standards in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Everyone loved this, my family doesnt like mushrooms so i left those out, also I didnt have cornbread box mix so, I mixed 1 1/2 cup cornmeal, 1/2 cup of flour and 1tbsp of baking powder. Next time I will add a little more green chilis and maybe some jalapenos. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tonopah, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is a great dish! Like some of the other reviewers I added a can of cream of chicken soup to the meat mixture and I also baked the cornbread mixture for approximately 10 mins to firm it up before adding the meat mixture. I also added cayenne pepper to taste for added spice and more green chiles. My sister and her daughter said it was the best thing they ever ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
The family did not like it. Too much cornbread and we really like cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Great for lunch, dinner and even breakfast! Chopping the chicken to small bit size was helpful for serving and eating, added in chopped spring onions before assembly for colour, texture and flavour. A sure winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Hi, I made several changes to this recipe (as we all do). I didn't have a package of muffin mix so I just made them from scratch. Just used the directions from the corn meal box, but just added the dry ingredients. Used real eggs and 1/2 c milk for liquid. Also used frozen mixed veggies and the cream of chicken soup. It tasted great and made a huge amount. Feed 4 kids and 3 adults and had leftovers. It tasted great. If I was making for my family I would 1/2 the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
We had friends over this weekend so I made this as a side dish. I was scared to make an entire meal dependent on a new recipe. It was a huge hit. Everyone including the kids and my hard to please hubby loved it. Next time it will be the main course. Combined with salad it is an easy meal that is a crowd pleaser. I didn't have the peppers on hand and so opted to omit. It was still delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari-Lynn1975

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
The canned corn should be drained. I thought the cornbread layer was to runny. Next time I will bump up the seasonings. Maybe even another can of green chile. My husband and I liked it enough to have it again but it needs a bit more spice. I didn't add the mushrooms. I thought it just didn't fit the type of recipe it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cndysc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States