Chicken Suiza Cornbread Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
WONDERFUL!! The whole fam loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I didn't read the recipe carefully and accidentally combined all ingredients instead of separating out the cornbread from the rest, but it turned out perfect by doing that. The cornbread was cooked throughout. Since many complained that the cornbread can be soupy unless cooked separately, this is the perfect solution and saves on cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
So, so good! Love that it is something very different. Used less butter, used 2 eggs...baked corn base for first 10 min. Used drained pinto beans instead of mushrooms. Next time want to use less sour cream and substitute the rest with cream of chicken. Also will add cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes to both mixes. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
We will not make this again ... I thought it sounded really neat, since i like cornbread...but the cornbread was really mushy and it turned out to be one big mushy mass ... sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
I loved this with reviewers changes. I boiled a pound of chicken strips. Prebaked the cornbread mixture for 10 mins....it comes out still a bit liquidy.....but, much sturdier to work with. I then cooked everything for 30 mins - it was golden brown and perfect! I also used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1 can low sodium crm of ckn. I used 6 TBS of butter and it was plenty. I used 2 eggs. I did not add the salt to the ckn mixture since there was plenty in the soup. I used regular cornbread 7.5 ounces, not sweet. Used Mozzarella cheese. It comes out looking a little soft in the middle....but, it's supposed to be that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Very rich and filling meal! I used a stick of butter instead of margarine, and also added the cream of chicken soup along with 1/2 c sour cream, and 2 eggs instead of egg substitute. This cooked up golden brown and delish! I think next time I will add more chopped green chiles and maybe eliminate the sour cream all together. if using the soup. Hubby loved this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Excellent! I changed the recipe based on other reviews. I decreased margarine to 6 T, used a whole can of chopped green chilies, decreased sour cream to 1/2 cup, did not add mushrooms, added 3/4 of a can of pinto beans (drained and rinsed). Next time I would decrease the butter to 4 T, NOT add chicken, but add a can of pinto beans and a can of black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This had a nice flavor, although a tad bit bland. I made this following the recipe almost exactly. I did not have a whole onion, and it needed more than the halfish of a large onion I put in it. I also put in a whole can of green chilis instead of the two tablespoons. The cornbread "crust" around the edges was a bit thick for my taste. Next time I'll use a smaller pan and spread the chicken mixture out more. I also think I'll add some cumin and maybe some chili powder to the chicken mixture next time for added flavor. The reviewers speaking to a mushy cornbread I don't think realized that this was not supposed to be cornbread with chicken on top, but rather more of a corn casserole. And perhaps the recipe could be better named to reflect that, even if "Cornbread Bake" does have a nice ring to it. A lovely recipe all in all that can be easily altered to accommodate extra spices for those who want something with more kick. Also to those who say this recipe is a lot of work because you have to cook the chicken, I'm wondering how you're cooking the chicken? I poached 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts while I was chopping and sauteing the vegetables. It added maybe 5 minutes to my prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This is my favorite new dish. I wish I could give it 10 stars. I will be makin' this at least once a month. I added 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese to the cornbread mixture.And 1/2 cup cheddar cheese plus taco seasoning to the chicken mixture. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Lile

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I loved this dish! Since I was just making it for me and my daughter, I cut the recipe in half and cooked in an 8 x 8 pan. Other changes: used one whole egg, most of a can of the green chiles (and it still wasn't very spicy), no mushrooms, and mexican shredded cheese. As suggested, I cooked the cornbread mixture first for about 12 minutes while I cooked my chicken in the skillet. I should mention that I did use some of a taco seasoning packet to flavor the chicken while cooking.Also, I'm not sure if you really need the cream of mushroom soup that many have added. I almost added it, but decided to go without and mine turned out awesome! Not soggy at all and a good mixture of sweet (from the corn bread mixture) and spice & flavor. Pretty easy to make and tasted great as leftovers. Definitely adding this one to my list of regulars. A great comforting, filling, yet unique dinner option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States