Chicken Suiza Cornbread Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This had a nice flavor, although a tad bit bland. I made this following the recipe almost exactly. I did not have a whole onion, and it needed more than the halfish of a large onion I put in it. I also put in a whole can of green chilis instead of the two tablespoons. The cornbread "crust" around the edges was a bit thick for my taste. Next time I'll use a smaller pan and spread the chicken mixture out more. I also think I'll add some cumin and maybe some chili powder to the chicken mixture next time for added flavor. The reviewers speaking to a mushy cornbread I don't think realized that this was not supposed to be cornbread with chicken on top, but rather more of a corn casserole. And perhaps the recipe could be better named to reflect that, even if "Cornbread Bake" does have a nice ring to it. A lovely recipe all in all that can be easily altered to accommodate extra spices for those who want something with more kick. Also to those who say this recipe is a lot of work because you have to cook the chicken, I'm wondering how you're cooking the chicken? I poached 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts while I was chopping and sauteing the vegetables. It added maybe 5 minutes to my prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This is my favorite new dish. I wish I could give it 10 stars. I will be makin' this at least once a month. I added 1/2 cup of cheddar cheese to the cornbread mixture.And 1/2 cup cheddar cheese plus taco seasoning to the chicken mixture. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmlile

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Milton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I loved this dish! Since I was just making it for me and my daughter, I cut the recipe in half and cooked in an 8 x 8 pan. Other changes: used one whole egg, most of a can of the green chiles (and it still wasn't very spicy), no mushrooms, and mexican shredded cheese. As suggested, I cooked the cornbread mixture first for about 12 minutes while I cooked my chicken in the skillet. I should mention that I did use some of a taco seasoning packet to flavor the chicken while cooking.Also, I'm not sure if you really need the cream of mushroom soup that many have added. I almost added it, but decided to go without and mine turned out awesome! Not soggy at all and a good mixture of sweet (from the corn bread mixture) and spice & flavor. Pretty easy to make and tasted great as leftovers. Definitely adding this one to my list of regulars. A great comforting, filling, yet unique dinner option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This recipe is 5 star with some changes/additions. We loved this with a little more traditional spice additions to mimic the enchilada version. I added the whole 4 oz. can chopped green chiles. They add flavor, not heat. I also added 1 1/2 tsp. ground cumin and 1 Tbsp. dried cilantro. I used 1 cup sour cream and 1 can cream of chicken soup. Don't worry, this is supposed to be creamy. I also prebaked the crust for 10 min on recommendation of another reviewer. I topped this off with 2 cups 6 cheese Mexican blend. Then cooked the whole thing for 60 minutes. We couldn't stop eating this stuff. I will definitely be making this again with the traditional mexican spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was delicious, if high-fat. I used two packages of the Krusteaz cornbread mix, which are the 15 oz size and so really increased the size of the recipe quite a bit. I used about 5 cups cubed chicken, but just 3 cups sour cream--amount for a double recipe. I used just one small can sliced mushrooms, which I could have increased to 2 cans. The biggest difference was that I poured 1/2 of the cornbread mix on the bottom of a 10"x15" glass dish, layered the chicken mixture and 1/2 the cheese over it, then poured the remaining half of the cornbread mix over the top. It took about 1 hour to bake. The last 10 minutes, I sprinkled the remaining cheese over the top. Just a little changing around of the way it was put together. Anyway, it was delicious, and I would make it again this way. Might cut it in half for just my husband and me, but was making this for a 92-year-old mother-in-law too, who doesn't like to cook, so made her lots to last a while. Update: Made again and substituted 1 cup of yoghurt for one cup of the sour cream and was still really good. Used two cans mushrooms. Forgot to put the cheese in the middle, but sprinkled some on top after it was done and was still good. A little lower fat too. Update #2--used too much cheese in the middle layer--next time avoid that, as it kind of drowned out the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This is the best recipe! Everyone asks me to make this. For a much faster way...USE CANNED CHICKEN(2 cans of Hormel premium chicken breast is perfect). I think it actually tastes better because the chicken shreds a little and it just adds to the flavor!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I made this Easter weekend while vacationing with a big family group & it was awesome! It's perfect for cooking easily as a casserole & to keep leftovers (which didn't make it 24-hours, it was so good)! It's very filling so I wouldn't serve anything else but a salad at most to accompany it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I followed the other comments and used a can of cream of mushroom. I regretted not pre-baking the muffin mix as the result was mushy and appeared uncooked even after an hour. It was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Made this tonight and we (me, DH + my sis) loved it! This would not serve 12 around here - the 3 of us ate half of it and looking forward to finishing off later in the week. I followed the recipe. Only thing I'll change next time is increase chicken by at least half more, and shred or dice much smaller so that there's chicken in every bite. Oh, I also added a whole small can of green chiles. (Only 2 Tbsp? Why bother? LOL) And I recommend sticking with the sour cream rather than soup. This is a keeper - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I only made a few minor adjustments. Instead of regular corn, I used mexican canned corn. I used 2 eggs, we don't use substitute. It was really good. We eat alot of mexican food so the spice level was a little low. Next time, I'll add the whole can of green chiles & probably a jap. The basic recipie is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslijo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States