Chicken Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I don't really understand the bad reviews on this recipe. We thought it was fantastic and tasted like a quick version of Thanksgiving dinner. Paired well with other Thanksgiving like dishes too. It was a nice change from our usual. Did as another reviewer suggested and used only 1 can broth and replaced cream of celery for sour cream. Will be keeping this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This dish was a HUGE HIT in my house. I had to slightly modify the recipe based on the ingredients I had on hand. I did not have cream of celery soup, so I used cream of mushroom instead. This paired well with the cream of chicken soup. Also, I prefer to make my own chicken broth, so I boiled my chicken (chicken legs and chicken breasts) and used about two cups of homemade chicken broth. I was scared the dish would be too salty, but it actually was not too salty. I used store brand corn bread dressing mix and I think this was an excellent choice. For the end product, the sauce was extremely creamy and attractive. This dish was a lot of work like other reviewers stated, but in my case, it was WELL worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
made my stuffing from scratch with torn bread, sauteed celery and onion fresh sage time and oregano and salt and pepper then baked 30min greased dish in foil. The rest was made as stated and turned out great. Will make again (making the stuffing made it not as salty but great flavour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
My wife really likes this one, but I think its just so so. Bit too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
My three children, hubby and I all loved it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I made this recipe. It was mediocre at best. Being from New Orleans, known for its "tasty cusine" this dish left a lot to be desired. Very bland. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I didnt have stuffing and i added in some leftover green peppers and onions that needed to be used. fresh garlic for garlic powder and didnt use the full amount of chicken broth. creamy, flavorful, a great light dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Photo by WeezaG
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I made this recipe for dinner tonight. Going by the VERY mixed reviews, I wasn't sure how it would turn out. I followed the recipe with the exception of using cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken, because I accidentally bought the wrong one when I went to the grocery store. Duh! We really liked it! I served the shells with steamed broccoli. Everyone went back for seconds. I used Stove Top whole wheat stuffing mix for chicken. It added a nice sage taste to the filling. I had a family pack of chicken thighs, so that is what I used. I put them in the oven, covered, while I went to the grocery store and they were done when I returned. I chopped up the all meat after it cooled, then I put the filling together. If I had been thinking, I would have used the broth from the chicken pan for the gravy, but I had already used the Swanson's that I bought before I thought of it. I added 1 t. garlic powder but no additional salt and pepper. The soups, broth and stuffing mix all have PLENTY of salt. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
These tasted good, but seemed to be missing something - cheese, maybe? Still, they were very rich and filling. They weren't all that pretty to look at. I served them with sauteed green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These are really good and not difficult to make. Iused Stove Top stuffing, most of the family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States