Chicken-Stuffed Shells with Sherry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was such a decadent treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Pretty good. Very rich- Different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Wow, this was really good! It was time consuming, but worth it. I made it on a weekend night, when I had a little more time. I pretty much made exactly as instructed. I used a little more garlic and cheese, just cuz I like it! I thought it might be a little too rich, so the last 15 minutes I topped dish with dollops of marinara sauce- oh maybe 1/2 cup toal. My sauce was really thick, so I think this helped from dish being too rich & dry. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillie64

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
The only mistake I made in attempting this meal was being overly ambitious on a weeknight - I was in the kitchen much too long tonight, but it was worth it. I bought the Gruyere, it was expensive but worth it, sharp and delicious - it does not taste like swiss cheese to me more a cross between swiss and sharp provolone. I too chose to use marsala wine instead of sherry, I think marsala is not as strong and the substitution was delicious. My sauce needed a lot of thinning from chicken stock, the roux stayed in roux form once i added the liquids slowly... it seized right back up. Delicious, even if it took a while and dirtied a lot of dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I think what I like best about this dish is that it is a delicious almost "fancy" meal, that is still achievable. What I mean by that is that the ingredients aren't too far-fetched and while it is slightly time consuming, it's expected when making stuffed shells. I have to admit that I didn't follow the recipe to a T (I never do); I used Marsala instead of sherry... but I liked the basic concept. The first time around I had it as is, the second time around I poured a little bit of red sauce on top. Both ways was excellant - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This was too much work, and too many dirty dishes for just an average recipe. Probably won't make again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by cakesnthings
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This was so good. I did some things different though. I boiled my chicken breast in lightly salted water with a bay leaf and a crushed garlic clove. Once it cooled completly I cut up the chicken in a fine dice. I also chopped up the mushrooms into smaller pieces. I added 2 cups of ricotta cheese and 1 tsp. of italian seasonings to the chicken/cheese mixture. Once it was combined well I put it in a pastry bag and used it to fill up the shells, much easier this way. It filled up 20 jumbo shells. I noticed that a lot of the shells broke, so I am glad that I cooked more than 8 oz. I would have like more sauce so maybe the addition of a cup of chicken broth would do the trick. Also, for the blandness, these stuffed shells taste great with a little spaghetti sauce drizzled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakesnthings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This was very difficult to make and did not taste that great. I think the cheese I used may have been bad even though I paid top dollar for it at the organic food mart. I may try one more time with another brand of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This recipe was a little complex to assemble. Mushrooms, chicken and pasta and sauce were all cooked separately and then assembled before final baking. The result was a lovely combination of flavors. The baked shells have a bland appearance so I served them with braised asparagus and a fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
It took me quite a bit longer than 30 mins. to prepare but it was one of the best meals I have ever made. Kudos to Linda W. for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Fettuccine with Sweet-Pepper Cayenne Sauce

Watch how to make this flavorful, spicy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States