Chicken Stuffed Chiles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Fantastic! I know the recipe was talking about poblano peppers, but I can see how it could be confusing. I made it for dinner tonight and my SO said it's "fantastico! que sabor! que rico!" If you have the opportunity, roast the poblanos on the grill over a really hot fire (like just as soon as you get the coals going). The skin will blister and blacken easily. Keep turning them until you blacken them on all sides and then toss them in a doubled or tripled plastic grocery bag and tie it shut. When the chiles are cool enough to handle, the blackened skin will be easy to remove. Run the chile under cool water to wash off the last bits of skin. At this point, if you're cooking ahead, you can pat them dry and store in the fridge overnight. Take them out and let them come to room temp before stuffing. If you're the type that likes to putz with appetizers, you can do the same thing with nice big jalapenos, but you need to remove the stem end and get the seeds.Then you'll be stuffing the chiles from that end instead of cutting a slit. This is a fantastic recipe. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chikee
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Fabulous!!! Like another reviewer, I too used poblano peppers (5) and a rotisserie chicken that was shredded and I added cumin and chile powder too. I am thinking the next time I will try a light batter to the stuffed peppers and then I'll fry them to make them more similar to a rellano. Delicious, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I made this a few weeks ago but I am just now getting around to rating it. I made it for Bunco Night when the theme was "sweet and spicy" (this of course being the spicy, and a trifle as the sweet). I changed a few things so I dont know if without my changes if it would've been spicy. I used a pre made cajun/bbq chicken that was already very spicy. I also made enchilada sauce and kicked it up alot, too. And I topped with a peppery and hot cheese. So with all that together it made a very spicy but DELSIH dish. Ill make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was great and SUPER easy! I bought some roasted hatch chiles from a roadside stand and used those. However, I didn't realize until near the end of stuffing them that I hadn't scraped out the seeds. Hooboy. Furthermore, I had some leftover chicken that I'd baked a few days ago, so I simply shredded it for the stuffing. When I make these in the future, I think I'll just cut off the stem (where most of the seeds hide out), discard it, and stuff the meat mixture down into the pepper that way as opposed to slicing them stem to stern and stuffing it lengthwise. It's a bit less messy and you don't risk destroying the entire in the process. I served these with a simple black bean side dish and it was great - easy, tasty, and affordable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
These are delicious. They remind me of a similar dish I get at Season's 52. I roasted the poblano's and added a few tbls of cream cheese to the filling along with cumin, paprika, and a little fresh salsa as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This was really easy to make and my husband enjoyed it. He prefers cotija cheese so I used both it and cheddar. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Delicious and easy. Great weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is awsome everyone loved these. I just have to remember to make a lot of them there is never enough. Everyone keeps eating until they are gone it doesn't matter how many I make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I followed one of the other reviewer's suggestions. I used anaheim peppers by downsizing the servings to 3. The first time I did them I used all cheddar but the second time, I used the packaged mexican cheese variety (cheddar, monterey jack, etc.). Both came out wonderful. It is true. The enchilada sauce is key. I used the mild El Pato red enchilada sauce in the can. It has enough flavor without it being overly spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
We made this dish with Anaheim Chilies. Absolutly loved it. We like our food very hot. I sauteed {sp?} yellow onions and a diced Jalepaneo and then added it to the shredded chicken mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States