Chicken Stuffed Chiles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This recipe is Fabulous! I stuffed roasted poblano peppers and made my own enchilada sauce, it turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
Insanely good...i used the already made roasted chicken at the market. I shredded this and it saved so much time. I also added monterey jack cheese into the filling for extra zing, and topped off each chile with fresh pico de gallo. This was extremely creative and different---I loved it!!! Thanks for the wonderful idea. I did the same thing with huge tomatoes, but liked the chile version better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyjen7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Good flavors with this recipe - here's my tips on making this. I was a bit confused about what peppers to use because it said to fill them with only 1 T of the mixture. I ended up getting the long green mild chiles. I roasted them and after I peeled the skin realized that it was going to be pretty much impossible to slit and stuff them neatly - the roasted peppers are thin and slippery. There was also the seeds inside that I didn't feel should be left in there so I seeded them as well as skinned them. I then put the roasted pepper on a fajita size flour tortilla and proceeded with adding the mixture and wrapping like a burrito. A key flavor is the enchilada sauce, so get that has good flavors. In the larger grocery stores they usually have a good selection of specialty sauces - check those out. I used one that had roasted peppers and citrus. I used mexican Fresco cheese in the chicken mixture and then sprinkled a mexican blend of shredded cheese on top. The roasted green chiles are so delicious - I'm going to think twice about buying canned ones again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This recipe was really good. I seemed to have a lot more chicken mixture than I had chiles though, so with the extra, I just kind of piled it on top of the chiles after they were stuff and places in the pan. Also, I forgot about the sour cream, but they were good without it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raisin City, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This was really tasty and I actually enjoyed it better the next day. I think the type of enchilada sauce that you use really makes or brakes the dish. I used the canned stuff but think I was to try the dry packet next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HJN Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
these were really, really great! i have made these twice now, once with canned green sauce and once with canned red sauce. the sauce really does matter!!! i liked the green better, the red was a little too bitter. also, the longer you char the peppers in the broiler, the easier it is to remove the skin. i would also suggest scooping out the seeds once you slit the peppers open, too. my bf loved these, except some of the peppers were extremely hot... so he just ate the guts of those. we will be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was great! We tried this on an "indulgence" night, since we normally try to cut down on fat and eat healthier. It was well worth the extra fat from the cheese. It is a little time consuming, but definitely worth it. We used Anaheim peppers (6 of them by adjusting the serving size to 3) and used Pepper jack cheese for the chicken mixture, but used regular cheddar for the final 5 minutes. We also used canned Old El Paso red enchilada sauce. It was very tasty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SGRMAG574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I also used the store bought roasted chicken and used the leftover chicken for other dishes later. I used 4 large poblano peppers instead of the 24 small green peppers mentioned. I also removed the seeds once I split the peppers. I served with spanish rice. So easy and SO yummy. My husband claimed this was now one of his favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This turned out soupy. It TASTED good, but didn't really make a meal. It fell apart and we actually served it over tortilla chips as nachos and that was really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chikee
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Fabulous!!! Like another reviewer, I too used poblano peppers (5) and a rotisserie chicken that was shredded and I added cumin and chile powder too. I am thinking the next time I will try a light batter to the stuffed peppers and then I'll fry them to make them more similar to a rellano. Delicious, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States