Chicken Stuff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
Very good! I added seasoned salt and onion and garlc powder for a little more "zing," also added half a pound of mixed veggies to make it a one-dish meal. At the suggestion of another reviewer, I just spread the unbaked cornbread batter on top as the baking time between this recipe and the recipe on the cornbread mix was comparable. In the future I think I would also make my own cornbread batter as the mix I used was gritty. I've served this twice in the past two weeks (I didn't get to taste it the first time around) and both times it has disappeared, much of it into the tummy of my two-year-old! Can't complain about that! This would also make a good filling for a quick and easy pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
I give this ** because after reading all the reviews I only used the recipe as a base and added a lot of seasonings and onion. With several reviews saying the cornbread was so dry, I just put the chicken mixture in the bottom of the pan then just spooned the unbaked corn muffin batter on top. It turned out pretty good and the cornbread was not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
Tastes great!! For the male college students out there (like myself)...the recipe has a 30 minute prep. time AFTER the chicken is cooked (you do need to cook it before putting it in the casserole dish, or so I was told). I was stuck with a mini George Forman and 4 lbs. worth of chicken breasts...and 30 minutes became an hour and a half... Cream of mushroom soup may also be pretty good in this but I haven't tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heathhoward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This recipe was delicious - however I modified quite a bit. I added chopped sauteed onion and celery + 1/2 tsp basil + 2 tsp parsely flakes, and about a tsp of minced garlic. I sauteed all of that together and then added the cooked chicken and soup. I also drizzled about 1/2 can of chicken broth (abt 5 oz) over the casserole and cornbread right before baking. It is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
My husband loved this meal! I used cream of mushroom instead of cream of chicken. Using Jiffy muffin mix added a great taste to the top of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
We didn't care for this much. The corn bread was very dry and there wasn't much flavor. We like the Chicken Souiza Cornbread Bake submitted by Michele a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
I changed the recipe and used cream of mushroom instead of celery and added broccoli and mushrooms and Cheddar cheese. Delicious! Definitly will make again. Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKPIGG33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
This was a really good caseerole. Very quick and easy. I added onions, mushrooms, a little butter and chicken broth. It is a recipe that you can add to without messing it up. Family ate it all up. Thanks Deann for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
This was ok...it just seemed to be missing something. I used cream of mushroom instead of celery. It was really easy to make. It has potential, we'll make it again, just try adding different things. Maybe cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
I made this with some left over chicken I had and it was quite good. The corn bread was a little dry, but overall a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States