Chicken Stroganoff I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
This was great. I made some changes, I cubed the chicken, I chopped up the mushroom really finely (the kids dont even detect it!), and I added a bit more browning sauce to darken the colors. The hour that the stroganoff simmers, is a worry free hour, you barely have to come back to it. The leftovers taste as great nuked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
What a great recipe! The nutmeg makes it taste wonderful. The only modification I made was to cut the chicken into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
This is the best recipe I have ever found on AllRecipes. Everybody I have fed it to loves it. I typically double the recipe so we can eat it for a whole week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEKID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
My husband told me how much he loved Beef stroganoff growing up, but as an adult he has givin up red meat. But one day I wanted to do something special for my husband so I looked this up and made it for dinner. He loved it. Made me promise never to loose the recipe. He said it was better then any beff one he had ever had. I call it kid-friendly because he liked it as a kid and i think most kids would like it. My kids see mushrooms and automatically begin to whine and refuse to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2002
Probably one of the best meals I've ever had. Absolutely divine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This was very tasty. I cut the fat by stirring 4 tablespoons of the leftover seasoned flour into the pan, before adding the soup/mushroom mixture. Instead of cream, I used canned skim milk. I also cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces. I used Kitchen Bouquet brand browning sauce, and served this dish with No-Yolks noodles and green beans. With the leftovers, I stirred the stroganoff and noodles together, to keep the noodles from drying out and sticking together. There was quite a bit of seasoned flour left over, so I think you could safely make this recipe with only 3/4 the quantity of flour. Next time, I may try a dash of Worchester sauce, too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I cooked it for my college roommates and it was definitely a big success!! I served it with white rice, bread, and asperagus. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
We liked this recipe a lot! It was a nice alterbative to Beef or hamburger stroganoff. I used canned mushrooms and I doubled the recipe, but not the onion soup, because I was afraid that the onion flavor would take over. Everything turned out great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
My husbands new favorite! I found it fattening so I didn't eat so much of the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
There seems to have been a problem with the rating on my review! This was DEFINITELY a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States