Chicken Stroganoff I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Could somebody please tell me what "browning sauce" is? I'm not a pro but I have been cooking for many years and have never heard of this. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
This was very tasty. I cut the fat by stirring 4 tablespoons of the leftover seasoned flour into the pan, before adding the soup/mushroom mixture. Instead of cream, I used canned skim milk. I also cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces. I used Kitchen Bouquet brand browning sauce, and served this dish with No-Yolks noodles and green beans. With the leftovers, I stirred the stroganoff and noodles together, to keep the noodles from drying out and sticking together. There was quite a bit of seasoned flour left over, so I think you could safely make this recipe with only 3/4 the quantity of flour. Next time, I may try a dash of Worchester sauce, too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
This was great. I made some changes, I cubed the chicken, I chopped up the mushroom really finely (the kids dont even detect it!), and I added a bit more browning sauce to darken the colors. The hour that the stroganoff simmers, is a worry free hour, you barely have to come back to it. The leftovers taste as great nuked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This was excellent. I did change the method a little. I cubed the chicken, and browned it, then brwned the mushrooms and garlic with the chicken. Roatsing brings out a deeper, richer flavor. I then added the sauce mix ingredients, and about a tablespoon of sherry. I also took the suggestion of another reviewer and added paprika to the flour. Also, used cream of mushroom soup as I didn't have chicken, and low fat milk. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
What a great recipe! The nutmeg makes it taste wonderful. The only modification I made was to cut the chicken into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
We liked this recipe a lot! It was a nice alterbative to Beef or hamburger stroganoff. I used canned mushrooms and I doubled the recipe, but not the onion soup, because I was afraid that the onion flavor would take over. Everything turned out great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
My husband told me how much he loved Beef stroganoff growing up, but as an adult he has givin up red meat. But one day I wanted to do something special for my husband so I looked this up and made it for dinner. He loved it. Made me promise never to loose the recipe. He said it was better then any beff one he had ever had. I call it kid-friendly because he liked it as a kid and i think most kids would like it. My kids see mushrooms and automatically begin to whine and refuse to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Thanks for the recipe! Had to do some substitutions but the overall result was great. Since browning sauce not easy to find on west coast, I used Worcestershire sauce. To help with the calorie count, I used low fat sour cream and low fat organic milk instead of cream. We had leftover roasted chicken that replaced the chicken breasts. Added peas and carrots for a one bowl supper. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Beautiful dish!!! Grrrreat flavor!!!! Only added paprika to flour and bit of sherry to the sauce......Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
This recipe looked really yummy to me but my family wanted something spicey. So, I decided to "kick it up a notch" and coated my bite size chicken pieces in cajun seasonings. I browned the chicken and then proceeded with the recipe, however, eliminating the onion soup mix to cut down on the salt. Next time I'll make it the regular way but I'll still leave out the onion soup and use fresh onions and my own seasonings. Anyway Marilyn, this was a great dish that my family really loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States