Chicken Stock Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This gumbo is really good. I was a bit skeptical about putting the rice in uncooked, but it cooked in the 30 min and really thickened up the gumbo nicely. I pulled meat off a rotisserie chicken and added it before simmering for 2 1/2 hours, in addition to the smoked sausage. One thing I would change: I would make the roux (bacon fat/oil/flour) by itself first, stirring constantly until it was the color of dark peanut butter; then I'd add the veggies to cook them down. In following the instrux as noted, I found that the flour mixture kept sticking to the bottom of the pan and never achieved a gravy-like consistency, which apparently it should have. But the taste is outstanding, so even following the instrux to a T resulted in delicious gumbo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
the first time i follow exactly was awsome! and now i use the base idea (rue and chicken broth) and use what i have on hand or have fun playing with different ingreds....Amazing!! you are the best for sharing this recipe with all of us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I doubled this recipe for our youth group. It was a good, inexpensive gumbo that everyone enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. I had only made gumbo a few times before, but this was by far the best. I actually omitted the chicken and added ham and shrimp. I also left the water out, just went with 2 qts of stock. Everyone that had this loved it. I had very little left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fife, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe.You can use whatever you have on hand and it comes out good everytime. I like mine a little more spicy,so I used diced tomatoes with green chilies for that extra punch. Also added corn,water chestnuts,and whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. Love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This is a very rich, bit labor intensive, very delicious gumbo. The base (or rou) makes this dish special. I have also added summer squash and zucchini to make this a yummy summer garden potash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
This was new fun and very good.We loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe with tons of flavor. It is a good way to use leftover chicken too. My husband loved it and couldn't believe I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States