Chicken Stew with Pepper and Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Very good but I cooked on stovetop. I cut up 3 chicken breast halves cut in bite size pieces and sauted in 1/2 stick marg. used only 3c. carrots parboiled,used 1 1/2 tsp. instant boullion with 1 1/2 c. water. I didn't have gingeroot,so I used 1/2 tsp. ginger powder. Increased hot pepper to 1 tsp. Used lg.can pineapple and put 3 T. cornstarch in juice. Cooked for 20 min. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Definitely not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
My husband loved this recipe. I doubled the amount of sauce and served on Basmati rice. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
My Family did not like it. The chicken fell apart into a stringy mush and it just did not tast good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
Great crowd pleaser! I needed to have this ready in less than an hour to feed six. I doubled the recipe and used the pressuer cooker. Twelve minutes later it was ready. I served it as suggest with white rice. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
This is so simple to fix and is delicious! It is very popular with every group I fixed it for. I shredded my chicken and used 1/2 as much which made it very economical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I got this from my AllRecipes.com cookbook so I did not read the reviews before now. I thought it was kind of strange it would take so many hours for the cubed chicken to cook. I was correct, the chicken came out really dry and like another person said it became stringy. I liked the taste but if I were to make this again I would probably adapt it to more of a stir-fry and totally change things. I still wonder if I did something wrong in cooking the chicken since it turned out so dry but I have read over the recipe several times and I made it just like instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpmcminn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This was absolutely a fantastic tasting meal--I served ir over rice and everyone enjoyed it very much--
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
This was an odd recipe, and one I won't try again. It really stinks while cooking, and what's with the pineapple? Overall, pretty darn gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
Smells so good while it's cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States