Chicken Stew with Pepper and Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Tried this recipe last night, cooking time was far too long, chicken ended up being a stringy mess and it definitely needed more flavorings. Will try again but with a few tweeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I've tried this several times although I add more vegetables like peaches and cream corn nibblets. I also add all colours of peppers, tomato, and some spice like cayenne for extra kick as I love spicy food. It's a nice combo of sweet yet spicy and healthy with all the veggies. If you don't want to serve with rice, you could add potato to the mix (small diced potatoes) and eat with naan as it's similar to a curry too, without the curry spices. :) Also, I add the chicken a little later because I like CHUNKS not stringy bits (the first time I cooked it it was stringy). Also, closer to the end, if I wanted to adapt again, I added some broccoli and cauliflower, it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellsmiley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Of course made a few tweaks of my own...we like extra substance in dishes, so I added onions, celery, extra pineapple and garbanzo beans (actually used dry beans, added the juice from the extra pineapple to have enough liquid to cook the beans). As a final garnish added fresh cilantro, chili garlic sauce and organic lime juice. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.g

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Side Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WaterlessCooker
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I made this dish today, instead of leaving chicken in chunks, I shredded it after cooking and served it over rice ...tasted awesome! The peppers and pineapple together with the seasonings made for happy tummies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vandergrift, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
It was good but no-one raced to get the leftovers. The chicken was a bit dry, I think that skipping the pre-browning may be the better way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
This was fabulous!! I made this today and it smelled so good! I was so excited to see what the family thought. they loved it!! Our grandson ate 3 helpings!!! Thank you so much for this post!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
My husband loves this! He doesn't shut up about making it. lol. It's really good with a whole chicken that tends to cook dry, it really holds moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Although for the most part it's consumable in present recipe, it certainly needs huge tweeking. I would NOT do the chicken in the crock, it comes out dry and stringy (and needs only 2 hours, not anymore). It needs a load more allspice and ginger (I used powder form) and without blanching the peppers you end up with a dish that plates as though it came from the frozen entree section...not very "homemade". I added garlic, for that third "layer" of flavor, and it needs to cut back on the broth. I served with jasmine rice. Omitting the pepper sauce can be done, as it does nothing for the final flavor. I'd stir fry the chix, remove, make a rue, replace chix in pot, add broth and wet ingredients, let simmer a few minutes and add pineapple and green peppers at the last 10 minutes. Let your nose tell you how much spices need to be added. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I like to serve this as more of a soup, as a stand alone meal. I don't use the boneless skinless chicken, just boil regular chicken and tear off the meat. I also add a lot more sugar since I like it very sweet. It's a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I thought this recipe was very flavorful and easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jcrossy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States