Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This is really good and easy. Next time I will add cauliflour and server over Indian Rice. Great for the Gluten-Free diet (which we must have)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was good! I fixed it in my pressure cooker by first sauting the chicken in some olive oil along with the onions. I added the chicken broth and tomatoes and cooked it about 15 minutes in the pressure cooker. I then added the vegetables and the coconut milk and cooked for another 5 minutes. I served it over rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Very easy to make. I also threw this into a pot and let it stew for about 30-40 min. It didn't blow me away but for its simplicity, it's a good dish that I would consider making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
great recipe, even my 6, 4, 4, and 2 year old liked it. to make it more of a meal I added tiny dot pasta to make it thicker. I also cut the curry in half and left out the beans, to suit our taste. we all said we would have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This was very, very good. I made some changes that I'm not sure I would go with next time but the basic recipe is wonderful and deserves 5 stars! I didn't have potatoes so I subbed mashed potato flakes - I used about 1/3 cup which was too much so it was a little thicker than I'd like and the flavor was a little overpowering. The other thing I overdid was the hot sauce - next time I'll up the spices instead. I only had 2 chicken breasts, so I added a half pound of (defrosted) frozen cooked shrimp at the very end, which was yummy. Used a whole can each of light coconut milk, tomatoes and peas (instead of lima beans. Used a little more chicken broth to balance out my over-potatoes. Next time, I think I'll use corn instead of peas, increase the ratio of coconut milk to the other liquids. But overall, I was really pleased with how easy and tasty this was. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Didn't care for the idea of making this in the microwave, so I used all the same ingredients on the stove in a stockpot. I found it a little bland, initially, but I think it's a pretty good recipe overall. I think topping it with a handful of chopped fresh thai basil would be a nice addition. I might even add a little ginger next time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Excellent and easy!Mods: Used slow cooker. 2.5 hours on high. Added 13.5oz (1 full can of coconut milk), rather than the 8oz the recipe calls for. Subbed spaghetti sauce for diced tomatoes. Omitted the lima beans and added 2 cups of frozen veggies. Added 2 extra TBS of extra-spicy curry. Perfect results
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
We thought this was delicous!! I did need to double the spices- but it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This was really good! It lacked a strong curry flavor, so next time I'll add a pinch more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was one of the easiest dishes I have ever made. The flavor was superb. I was going to cook it in a pot on the stove, but decided to use the microwave after all. Serve it with hot Naan bread, to sop up the juices. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States