Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This tasted really good! The sauce was great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
My family loves this, I've made it a few times and put chickpeas or green beans in place of the lima beans. Taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungryhippo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Loved the sauce slightly thickened with flour. I didn't have the veggies recommended so I used a "Healthy Choice" bag of frozen pea pods, black beans and carrots. It was quite delicious. My husband thought it was a little heavy on the seasoning with not enough variety and I thought it was a little light on seasoning but would have been great with the addition of cilantro as suggested. I'm giving it 5 stars because I have 2 picky eaters who cleaned their plates and it was something different to cook AND easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I've made this every week for the last 3 weeks, it's that good! I use the whole can of tomatoes and garbanzos instead of lima beans and simmer on the stove until it reduces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made a couple of adjustments because of my family needs. I omitted the tomatoes,baby lima beans, and hot sauce. I mixed knorr chicken & Veggie flavored rice after everything else was cook then I combined all of the ingredients. It still turned out tasty. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Montclair, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
If it was possible I would give it 0 stars... I tried doing this in the crockpot as someone suggested. It had absolutely no flavor - we tasted no coconut nor curry, all cumin... maybe it would be better in the microwave - I don't know. However, I would not suggest trying this....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Made on the stove. This is good as written, but here are my mods: Use a whole can of coconut milk. Peas instead of lima beans. Add sweet potatoes, a bay leaf, a can of diced tomatoes, 1/4 c. of golden raisins, a bit more spice, and sometimes squash. Chop, dump in pot, saute the veggies a bit, then add the liquids and simmer for about 30 min. I add the chicken during the last 10 min. Everyone who tries it has loved it, including my 5-yr old. This has become a frequent go-to meal... an easy, everyone-likes-it, one-pot dinner that cooks up quickly and tastes fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was awesome! The only change I made is that I cooked on the stove, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Good, but you need to double the spices. Not exactly flavor country!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drmons
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was very good. I did add more curry,also cauliflower & lots of pepper. I agree it could have used something else too, but not sure what. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Sullivan Bloom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States