Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Made on the stove with my dutch oven. Flavor was lacking something as others said, but otherwise was not bad. This was so easy to make which was a +. I served it with quinoa which thickened it up a bit. Maybe making it in the micro activates some extra flavor. I may make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes. I make it at least twice a month and everybody loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
this just didn't do it for me...it wasn't horrible though, just nothing special. I had no desire to eat the leftovers for lunch the next day, and we always eat leftovers to save $$. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I put chicken & lima beans in the ingredient search, and this is the only recipe that came up. I actually had everything necessary, so I made it, and I was VERY pleasantly surprised. I didn't have enough chicken, I didn't use any onion, I used 2 large russet potatoes, a can of lima beans, drained, a 14.5-oz can of chopped tomatoes, drained, a whole can of coconut milk and chicken broth, cumin, curry and salt and pepper to taste. I didn't measure anything. Made on the stovetop. Browned the chicken first, then added the vegetables and seasoning. Stirred that around until the spices were fragrant, then added the chicken broth and coconut milk. Covered and let simmer about 40 minutes. Delicious! Even my super-picky husband liked it! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This is a great recipe that I cook on the stove. Freeze the rest for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Really like this stew, it's easy to make and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Absolutely suberb! I gave my parents some for their dinner too and they thought it tasted like something they'd get at a restaurant. It really was excellent! This will be one of my top 10 recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
One of my favorites. I use the whole can of coconut milk and diced tomatoes. Have made this over and over ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This smelled much more tantalizing than it tasted. I made it on the stove top because we do not use a microwave. I would probably make it again, but maybe I'll add the coconut milk at the very end of the cooking time to keep it creamier. When I made this, I couldn't even taste the coconut milk. Being a frequent diner at Asian/Indian restaurants, this dish seemed like it was missing something very significant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States