Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I didn't use the lima beans and I cooked on the stove top using low heat...my husband loved it! The aroma that filled the air had everyone curious about what's in the pot...lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This was outstanding! My husband and son both loved it and my husband usually doesn't like anything very different or out of the ordinary. Like most people do with recipes, I did some tweaking. I added cream of mushroom soup (undiluted), left out the baby lima beans since I didn't have any on hand, used a whole 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of a 1/4 of the can, added a diced red bell pepper and minced garlic, and sauteed the pepper, onion, and garlic before adding to the rest of the ingredients. I also cooked everything in a pot on the stove instead of microwaving, and I doubled the recipe. Wow! I was so amazed how good this tasted! It was so easy and quick to make! It was perfect for a rainy and cold day like today, and will be a regular meal at our home from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Definitely needed some spice and extra kick. I added the juice of one lime and some red pepper. Really good served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs
Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This is fabulous! I cook curries a lot and I use yellow curry paste which includes a whole gamut of spices including cumin. It's quite spicy and worked in this dish wonderfully. Thanks Jean! Made mine on the stovetop as I never cook in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Next time I would use half the amount of lentils and add 1/3 cup of raisins. It was still good though, but the potatoes and lentils provided a trxture that wasnt to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kriss925
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
My tweeks: Cook in a large pot on stove top. Sautee onion first just until it's soft. ...Add 3 cloves of garlic roughly chopped.Add chicken. Add carrots - I didn't have baby carrots so I used regular ones, I wanted extra vegs so I used about 1 1/4 cup Add liquids- coconut milk, tomatoes, stock (I didn't have chicken so I used vegetable). Add spices. Many people said the original recipe was missing something so in addition to the curry & cumin, I added 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper. I also used a heaping tbsp of tomatoe paste & about 1/4 tsp of corn starch. Add potatoes, I used a lil more potatoes too. Add lima beans & simmer on medium heat until all vegs are cooked through. Hot sauce for some spice! I served it over basmati rice cooked in water and the left over coconut milk. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Made on the stove with my dutch oven. Flavor was lacking something as others said, but otherwise was not bad. This was so easy to make which was a +. I served it with quinoa which thickened it up a bit. Maybe making it in the micro activates some extra flavor. I may make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes. I make it at least twice a month and everybody loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
this just didn't do it for me...it wasn't horrible though, just nothing special. I had no desire to eat the leftovers for lunch the next day, and we always eat leftovers to save $$. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I put chicken & lima beans in the ingredient search, and this is the only recipe that came up. I actually had everything necessary, so I made it, and I was VERY pleasantly surprised. I didn't have enough chicken, I didn't use any onion, I used 2 large russet potatoes, a can of lima beans, drained, a 14.5-oz can of chopped tomatoes, drained, a whole can of coconut milk and chicken broth, cumin, curry and salt and pepper to taste. I didn't measure anything. Made on the stovetop. Browned the chicken first, then added the vegetables and seasoning. Stirred that around until the spices were fragrant, then added the chicken broth and coconut milk. Covered and let simmer about 40 minutes. Delicious! Even my super-picky husband liked it! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States