Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I'm a big fan of Thai food, but was fully prepared to be underwhelmed by this. I was happily surprised when, With some changes, this stew was delicious. I upped the ingredients and made this on top of the stove. I boiled two bone-in chicken breasts, reserving the stock. Then sauteed onion and garlic in 1T oil in a stockpot. Bloomed 1 T cumin, 2 T curry powder, 1/4 t. cayenne, and 1/2 t. dried basil in the oil, then added reserved chicken stock. Used extra carrots and potatoes, frozen peas instead of lima beans, and the whole can of diced tomatoes. Cooked until veggies were soft, then added the diced chicken, the whole can of coconut milk and juice of half a lime. Turned out great! Even the BF, who does not eat Thai food, loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I love yellow curry from Thai restaurants and was wanting something similar. This was the only recipe I could find that had similar ingredients. This was easy to do and I did cook it on the stove. I had to add a loy more curry, as well as a jalapeno to get it to my liking. Overall, this was a good starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Super easy to make...I put it all in the crock pot since I didn't want to microwave it. I used fresh tomatoes, omitted the lima beans and added a tablespoon of minced garlic. It tasted great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neppers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roberts, Idaho, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Great recipe. I used the stovetop and used 2 tablespoons each of cumin and curry for more flavour. I also used sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was delicious! I did it on the stovetop and used chicken thighs that I browned first. I used a whole can of coconut milk and a whole can of tomatoes, otherwise followed the recipe to a T. The flavor is amazing and it is pretty easy to make. I served it with jasmine rice, but the rice didn't do anything for the recipe, so I'll skip that next time. The potatoes provide enough starch and have all that wonderful flavor. I will definitely be adding this to my "do again" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Yum. Super easy and super good. I haven't made in the microwave (as cooking chicken in the microwave freaks me out), but have prepared on the stove & in the crock pot. Used sweet potatoes and frozen peas as sub. for yellow potatoes and lima beans. Omitted tomatoes, and added peanut butter & fish sauce for a bit more flavor. A great way to use leftover chicken. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Wow! Making this now and it is sooo tasty already! Used canned garbanzo beans and red onion because that's what I had, added grated fresh ginger and cut up about 1 Tbsp fresh basil, 1 red bell pepper sliced and used 28 oz can of organic diced tomatoes. Everything else as called for in recipe and made in pot on top of stove! Husband walked in door and said, "That smells so good!" Love it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I didn't use the lima beans and I cooked on the stove top using low heat...my husband loved it! The aroma that filled the air had everyone curious about what's in the pot...lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States