Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Absolutely delicious and so easy, considering its a microwave soup. Some guests I had over for lunch wanted the recipe. I am going to try Jean Carper's other recipes after this great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I have made this recipie several times and felt compelled to review it. I did this recipie on the stove instead of in the microwave, and it still came out wonderful. I almost always have used more than one pound of the chicken breasts (more like a pound and a half or two pounds). Also, one time I tried to use half and half instead of coconut milk because I couldn't get to the store and it made the recipie way too thin (the consistency was terrible) and not good. If you pretty much follow these instructions to a T, it's a keeper. Great one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I did have to add much more cumin and curry than specified, but I do love spicy foods. Also this was nice served over brown rice and fresh green peppers. I also used instant mashed potatoes instead of regular (I forgot them at the store), but it worked really well and served to thicken the dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was FANTASTIC! Instead of microwaving I cooked this on the stovetop, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It was soo yummy. I served in soup caraffes over basmati rice and I couldn't get enough. 2 bowls for dinner, and more re-heated the next day for lunch. This is a recipe that I will be making again and again (during the cold months, of course). Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
Perfect winter warmer! Very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Good. My husband said it is one of his top 10. I thought it was good but not in my to 10. I put seasonings in to taste. Added 1/2 a lime, mushrooms, spinach, canned chicken, and pumpkin (cooked mushy to thicken to a thick stew). Cooked on stove, and added more chicken boullion for flavor. My husband said "what could be better than coconut and pumpkin". He also liked that it "filled his gut".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LinC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
Hi this recipe is execllent. I made this dish for my family they all loved it. this recipe is a keeper in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Mmmmmmm delicious! I love curry and this sure hit the spot! I pretty much made this just as written. I didn't have quite enough lima beans, and I used regular stock and tomatoes (didn't have the no salt). I thickened it a bit with cornstarch since I like a thick stew and served it over rice yummmm! The only complaint I have was that my pot was not quite big enough and it made a mess of my microwave! I will buy a bigger pot before I make it again or try it in the slow-cooker. Thanks for the new addition to my favorites file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This is absolutely wonderful! The only changes that I made were: I added sliced red and green peppers and I omitted the potatoes. I cooked this on the stove as others had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: West Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I didn't make this in the microwave, I made it on the stovetop. I did flour the chicken and sear it in the pan first. This dish is excellent!!! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States