Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
Absolutely delicious and so easy, considering its a microwave soup. Some guests I had over for lunch wanted the recipe. I am going to try Jean Carper's other recipes after this great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
This recipe was super easy and very good. I think there's a typo, though - I used a entire 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes and it came out fine. My only complaint - not spicy enough. Add more hot sauce to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This was an interesting stew. In the first few spoonfuls it wasn't looking very promising. BUT... the more you eat it the more it grows on you! Although not what I expected, I did ultimately enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I decided to cook this on the stovetop instead and it came out wonderfully. You can eat this with rice or by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
I have made this recipie several times and felt compelled to review it. I did this recipie on the stove instead of in the microwave, and it still came out wonderful. I almost always have used more than one pound of the chicken breasts (more like a pound and a half or two pounds). Also, one time I tried to use half and half instead of coconut milk because I couldn't get to the store and it made the recipie way too thin (the consistency was terrible) and not good. If you pretty much follow these instructions to a T, it's a keeper. Great one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Really tasty. I just threw it in the crockpot for a couple hours with the veggies I had on hand and served it over rice. We really enjoyed the flavors. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I did have to add much more cumin and curry than specified, but I do love spicy foods. Also this was nice served over brown rice and fresh green peppers. I also used instant mashed potatoes instead of regular (I forgot them at the store), but it worked really well and served to thicken the dish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Of course I had to change/add some things: I added some fish sauce, a bit of sugar and the juice of 1 lime. I did not have lima beans so a few minutes before the end I added a can of peas and, by the way, I used 4 chicken thighs which I previously browned in oil: SUPER DELICIOUS and SUPER EASY!!!I never thought that this tpe of a dish could be so tasty cooked in the micro!! It could certainly be served for company with a garnish of cilantro leaves for instance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was FANTASTIC! Instead of microwaving I cooked this on the stovetop, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. It was soo yummy. I served in soup caraffes over basmati rice and I couldn't get enough. 2 bowls for dinner, and more re-heated the next day for lunch. This is a recipe that I will be making again and again (during the cold months, of course). Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
This was pretty good... I also made it on the stovetop. I sauteed the onion in olive oil and then added some garlic. I also used a sweet potato, and forgot to add the tomatoes. It still came out good. I also added a jalapeno pepper and more curry powder to make it spicier. I think this needs something else to make it spectacular. But it turned out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States