Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was one of the easiest dishes I have ever made. The flavor was superb. I was going to cook it in a pot on the stove, but decided to use the microwave after all. Serve it with hot Naan bread, to sop up the juices. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This was excellent. We had the leftovers the next day and it was even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsay
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was pretty good. I didn't have potatoes so I used cauliflower, and I substituted peas for lima beans and fresh chopped tomatoes for canned. I cooked it on the stove and thickened the stew with a bit of flour mixed with water. I had some spicy mango chutney left over from the last time I made a curry flavoured dish, and for me that's what really made this good - the mango complemented the chicken so nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Made this for a large group and everyone loved it and had seconds. Great flavor and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I really enjoyed this - I doubled everything and cooked it on the stove. Sauteed onions until translucent, then cooked the chicken with the onions, then put everything in a soup pot for an hour. This recipe needs lots more of the spices than called for - and I also added a few dashes of sugar. It came out quite tasty, and I served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Made it one time on the stove and wasn't crazy about it. The second time I followed the directions and used the microwave. From the microwave I got much better tasting results. The spices were stronger and the consistency was thicker. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Really nice dish, not great for kids due to being spicey, but my hubby and I just loved it. I used full can of diced tomatoes, frozen peas instead of beans, and floured chicken pieces first, stove-top worked great. Update 11/2011, Made it again last night as my stove broke, used slow cooker on high for 6 hours, 4 very large chicken breasts ( from Costco), full can of diced tomatoes, full can of coconut milk, forgot about the chicken broth but it was not needed, 1 1/2 tbsp of cumin and curry powder, pack of frozen peas instead of lima beans, cut the chicken into bite size and the carrots/potatoes, left alone on high for 6 hours, and it came amazing, definitely a go to in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2007
This was so easy and so tasty. I omitted the carrots and used spaghetti sauce instead of tomatoes. I also used chicken seasoning with water instead of chicken broth and substituted in sweet potatoes. Okay, okay, pretty different but I'm a poor college student!! If I could choose I probably wouldn't omit the tomatoes, but I'll make it again with sweet potatoes--kicks it up a notch! I had it with basmati rice and the chicken was SUPER tender, and so were the potatoes. I cooked it uncovered (no lid) and it was done in 24 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I love this recipe. I didn't measure my carrots or potatoes - just threw enough in to look balanced. I used a whole tin of chopped tomatoes with juice, and a whole tin of light coconut milk. I haven't tried this in the microwave yet - just made it on the stovetop like others suggested, and it was great! This makes a really easy and nutritious weeknight meal, and the leftovers are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States