Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is really tasty! We serve it over basmati, mmm! I brown the chicken in a saute pan and then throw everything in my slow cooker instead of the microwave. I double the potatoes, add 2 cloves of garlic, and substitute garbanzo beans for the limas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendi Leitzell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I just made this a few nights ago, and me and my husband loved it. I did double the spices as some suggested because we like curry. I will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
It was okaaaayyy...there was something missing, though. I doubled the curry after tasting it, added some chili powder and salt, still a little bland. One day later it was a little better. Two days later it improved some more. I'm still wondering what is missing??!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Really, really good. I made this for a group of women coming for dinner. It was so easy to prepare, and tasted wonderful. I accidentlaly used the entire can of coconut, but other than that, followed the recipe precisely. Everyone raved, and I got a few requests for the leftovers and recipe. Who thought a microwave meal would be this good?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
had with brown rice, was slightly above average
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I substitute the lima beans for corn. Also, I found that I had to thicken up the stew by adding a bit of flour. If you really like more spice, I suggest adding more curry. Overall, I was very impressed with how tender the chicken came out. You can easily use beef. Also, I cooked mine on the stove versus the microwave. It was done in less then half hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Excellent!!! Don't change a thing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I only have 3 dishes that all 5 of my children AND my husband likes, now I have four thank you very much. Personally I don't cook anything in the microwave, so this is a slowcooker meal for me. But NOT for only a couple of hours like one reviewer said. Four hours on high to get the potatoes cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
So yummy! All 5 of my kiddos loved this soup, which we ate over rice. I did not microwave it, but cooked it on the stove top, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I've made this recipe a handful of times. I love curry and I really appreciate that this recipe uses ingredients I almost always have on hand. My latest attempt I accidentally used the whole can of coconut milk, which I realized was wrong 2.5 seconds after doing it. I added more potatoes and about 1/2-1 teaspoon more of the spices and it seemed fine. I also use peas because I'm not a lima bean fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States