Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I gave this only 3 stars. It definitely thought something was very missing in the taste. It just did not have the zing I was looking for. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I tend to alter recipes a lot, and I saw that everyone said it was "missing something" but it was good. Here's some of what I did to fill out the flavor: -cooked on stove top in large iron pot -Sauteed onions and garlic until caramelized, then added carrots, then potatoes, then tomatoes, fresh parsley -added chx stock and kept reducing to create a kind of stock -added coconut milk, red pepper flakes, some chicken bouillion powder, curry powder, a little cumin, dried thyme -then added lima beans, then all chicken -cooked chx submerged about 20 or so minutes. - (I used skinless boneless thighs and legs) -a little corn starch w/ water in the end to thicken It came out great and didn't lack at all. I also didn't pay attention to the measurements and went by eye and taste. Too much coconut milk can make things taste too smooth and bland and covers flavors, so creating the condensed veggie "stock" and some chicken bouillion gave it the fullness to balance it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Pretty good for a quick fix. Like others, I cooked this on the stove top. I didn't have everything on hand so instead of canned tomatoes and lima beans I used fresh tomatoes and chickpeas. I also felt it lacked something, so right before serving I mixed in the juice of half a lime. Worked out great. Next time I'll probably add some thai basil. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made this in my rice cooker and it turned out fabulous. No leftovers. I put everything but the chicken in the rice cooker and mixed it up......then added the chicken and hit start. It was done in less than 30 minutes (checked w/meat thermometer). I didn't have tomatoes or chicken broth.....so i just added a little less than a cup of water and it was perfect. It even made it's own gravy that was the perfect consistency. I will DEFINITELY make this again. Served with caribbean style coconut bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This tasted really good! The sauce was great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
My family loves this, I've made it a few times and put chickpeas or green beans in place of the lima beans. Taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungryhippo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Loved the sauce slightly thickened with flour. I didn't have the veggies recommended so I used a "Healthy Choice" bag of frozen pea pods, black beans and carrots. It was quite delicious. My husband thought it was a little heavy on the seasoning with not enough variety and I thought it was a little light on seasoning but would have been great with the addition of cilantro as suggested. I'm giving it 5 stars because I have 2 picky eaters who cleaned their plates and it was something different to cook AND easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Cox Gabbard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I've made this every week for the last 3 weeks, it's that good! I use the whole can of tomatoes and garbanzos instead of lima beans and simmer on the stove until it reduces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made a couple of adjustments because of my family needs. I omitted the tomatoes,baby lima beans, and hot sauce. I mixed knorr chicken & Veggie flavored rice after everything else was cook then I combined all of the ingredients. It still turned out tasty. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Montclair, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
If it was possible I would give it 0 stars... I tried doing this in the crockpot as someone suggested. It had absolutely no flavor - we tasted no coconut nor curry, all cumin... maybe it would be better in the microwave - I don't know. However, I would not suggest trying this....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States