Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Like the other reviewers I cooked this on the stove. I used a 1.5 Tbsp of curry and a tsp of chili powder. I fried the onions in olive and curry. Then I added the chicken and potatoes. I browned them for 5 minutes. I added the broth, cumin, chili powder and coconut milk. Let it simmer for 20 minutes. I then added the veggies. I skipped the tomatoes and carrots but added baby corn, stem mushrooms, bok choy, and water chestnuts. I let it simmer for another 10-15 minutes before serving over rice. I would have added more chili and maybe red rooster sauce but I don't think my baby can handle the spice through his milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was sooo yummy! I did it on the stovetop, browning the chicken first. I was a little afraid of the lima beans, but they were perfect in this dish. Everyone loved it! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I made a vegetarian version of this dish by substituting canned seitan (which is a meat substitute made from wheat gluten that has the texture and flavor of chicken) for the chicken. I also substituted canned white beans for the lima beans (since I hate lima beans), and added 1/3 cup white flour to thicken the sauce...I also cooked it in the slow cooker. I first fried the seitan in a little oil, the fried the veggies for a bit and stirred in the flour, spices and coconut milk to thicken a little before tossing into the slow cooker for 4 hours. I served over rice and it was delish! I don't normally go crazy altering recipes, but since I wanted to do a slow cooker vegetarian version, I had to make a few changes, but the overall flavors were the same. This dish is mildly spicy and very tasty. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I love flavors that resemble those from the Philippines and India, and this was really delicious. It was so easy to make, even on the stove. I browned the chicken in olive oil with some seasoning, then took it out, and covered it. The I put all of the vegetables (potatoes with the peel on, carrots, the whole can of diced tomatoes, onion, garlic, and corn) in the pot with the curry and cumin (I put a lot more than what the recipe called for because I love those spices), and added a dash of ginger. I cooked those until they began to soften, then returned the chicken to the pot, added the chicken broth and coconut milk, and then frozen peas and let it simmer for about 30-45 minutes. It turned out so good, and my fiance, who usually doesn't like curry, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia Howe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This was great! I did modify how I cooked it ( browned chicken and then slow cooked for 2 hrs.) but the ingredient proportions were perfect. My family w/ a 5 and 9 yo all loved it. I left out the potatoes and the beans and added a handful of diced green and red bell pepper I had leftover. The potatoes would have been good for adding body, but I didn't have any around. Instead I served it over some white rice. Def. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Made this for the first time today and my husband just told me it is now one of his favorites. I did make some alterations for our personal tastes which were as follows. I did not use microwave but instead cooked in a pot on the stove top. Used sweet potatoes instead of regular (lots more nutrients and the mild sweetness adds to the flavor nicely) and boiled along with the carrots in 14 oz can of chicken broth, 14 oz can of coconut milk and 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes. Also added 1 tablespoon of cumin, 1 tablespoon of curry powder and some garlic powder to taste along with a pinch of garlic salt and pepper. Waited till carrots and potatoes started to soften just a little then added garbanzo beans, green peppers, onions and plenty of chicken cut into bite size pieces (I had already sautéed chicken in a little bit of peanut oil). You want to cook just long enough for the potatoes and carrots to soften without getting mushy. Served over brown rice and very important, liberally sprinkle cilantro on top! This was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hciampa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I'm a big fan of Thai food, but was fully prepared to be underwhelmed by this. I was happily surprised when, With some changes, this stew was delicious. I upped the ingredients and made this on top of the stove. I boiled two bone-in chicken breasts, reserving the stock. Then sauteed onion and garlic in 1T oil in a stockpot. Bloomed 1 T cumin, 2 T curry powder, 1/4 t. cayenne, and 1/2 t. dried basil in the oil, then added reserved chicken stock. Used extra carrots and potatoes, frozen peas instead of lima beans, and the whole can of diced tomatoes. Cooked until veggies were soft, then added the diced chicken, the whole can of coconut milk and juice of half a lime. Turned out great! Even the BF, who does not eat Thai food, loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I love yellow curry from Thai restaurants and was wanting something similar. This was the only recipe I could find that had similar ingredients. This was easy to do and I did cook it on the stove. I had to add a loy more curry, as well as a jalapeno to get it to my liking. Overall, this was a good starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Super easy to make...I put it all in the crock pot since I didn't want to microwave it. I used fresh tomatoes, omitted the lima beans and added a tablespoon of minced garlic. It tasted great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neppers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States