Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I agree with other posters who said this "needs something but I dont know what" because it did. It was very tasty though and quite satisfying. I will be making this again! I think I'll add more curry next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This recipe worked out really well. It was really easy. The only thing that took a minute or two was cutting the chicken and potatoes into chunks. I prepared it on my stovetop in an enamel cast iron dutch oven. I added one more potato and a bit more coconut milk and chicken broth to cover it all. It was all done in no time. This just might become a new staple at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Good flavors and crock pot friendly. Even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This is my first review I've done! I'm a HUGE All Recipe.com fan!! All I have to say about this recipe is "LOVED IT"! These are the changes I made...I doubled the recipe for starters & I put it in the crockpot for 8 hours on low. I didn't use the lima beans, instead I used a can of corn, I used a can of carrots instead of fresh, I used twice as much diced tomato, I added 3 tsp of Franks Hot Sauce, and a jalepeno, didn't use the cumin & doubled the curry. I served this over rice. I served this at work for my co-workers & it was a HIT! Thanks to the submitter!! I will definetly look at her other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was good, but it didn't taste very coconuty even though I used an entire can of coconut milk. Next time I will cut back on cumin since this one stood out too much and omit the lima beans. I followed the advice of another reviewer and cooked it on the stove top instead of microwaving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
So easy and very good. We cooked it on the stove too about 20-30 minutes. Will definately make this a regular meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Excellent flavors and very filling! It's good by itself as a stew but we also liked it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Very nice and easy. A hearty stew I served on it's own. Definitely a do over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I almost didn't add carrots because I don't like cooked carrots. But I'm glad I did! This recipe is so good, my husband is requesting it again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This is really tasty! We serve it over basmati, mmm! I brown the chicken in a saute pan and then throw everything in my slow cooker instead of the microwave. I double the potatoes, add 2 cloves of garlic, and substitute garbanzo beans for the limas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendi Leitzell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States