Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Made on the stove. This is good as written, but here are my mods: Use a whole can of coconut milk. Peas instead of lima beans. Add sweet potatoes, a bay leaf, a can of diced tomatoes, 1/4 c. of golden raisins, a bit more spice, and sometimes squash. Chop, dump in pot, saute the veggies a bit, then add the liquids and simmer for about 30 min. I add the chicken during the last 10 min. Everyone who tries it has loved it, including my 5-yr old. This has become a frequent go-to meal... an easy, everyone-likes-it, one-pot dinner that cooks up quickly and tastes fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi in Madison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was awesome! The only change I made is that I cooked on the stove, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Good, but you need to double the spices. Not exactly flavor country!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drmons
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was very good. I did add more curry,also cauliflower & lots of pepper. I agree it could have used something else too, but not sure what. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Sullivan Bloom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I agree with other posters who said this "needs something but I dont know what" because it did. It was very tasty though and quite satisfying. I will be making this again! I think I'll add more curry next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lusby, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This recipe worked out really well. It was really easy. The only thing that took a minute or two was cutting the chicken and potatoes into chunks. I prepared it on my stovetop in an enamel cast iron dutch oven. I added one more potato and a bit more coconut milk and chicken broth to cover it all. It was all done in no time. This just might become a new staple at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Good flavors and crock pot friendly. Even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This is my first review I've done! I'm a HUGE All Recipe.com fan!! All I have to say about this recipe is "LOVED IT"! These are the changes I made...I doubled the recipe for starters & I put it in the crockpot for 8 hours on low. I didn't use the lima beans, instead I used a can of corn, I used a can of carrots instead of fresh, I used twice as much diced tomato, I added 3 tsp of Franks Hot Sauce, and a jalepeno, didn't use the cumin & doubled the curry. I served this over rice. I served this at work for my co-workers & it was a HIT! Thanks to the submitter!! I will definetly look at her other recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
This was good, but it didn't taste very coconuty even though I used an entire can of coconut milk. Next time I will cut back on cumin since this one stood out too much and omit the lima beans. I followed the advice of another reviewer and cooked it on the stove top instead of microwaving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
So easy and very good. We cooked it on the stove too about 20-30 minutes. Will definately make this a regular meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States