Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I made this in my rice cooker and it turned out fabulous. No leftovers. I put everything but the chicken in the rice cooker and mixed it up......then added the chicken and hit start. It was done in less than 30 minutes (checked w/meat thermometer). I didn't have tomatoes or chicken broth.....so i just added a little less than a cup of water and it was perfect. It even made it's own gravy that was the perfect consistency. I will DEFINITELY make this again. Served with caribbean style coconut bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This tasted really good! The sauce was great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
My family loves this, I've made it a few times and put chickpeas or green beans in place of the lima beans. Taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hungryhippo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Loved the sauce slightly thickened with flour. I didn't have the veggies recommended so I used a "Healthy Choice" bag of frozen pea pods, black beans and carrots. It was quite delicious. My husband thought it was a little heavy on the seasoning with not enough variety and I thought it was a little light on seasoning but would have been great with the addition of cilantro as suggested. I'm giving it 5 stars because I have 2 picky eaters who cleaned their plates and it was something different to cook AND easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I've made this every week for the last 3 weeks, it's that good! I use the whole can of tomatoes and garbanzos instead of lima beans and simmer on the stove until it reduces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This is a great recipe. I made a couple of adjustments because of my family needs. I omitted the tomatoes,baby lima beans, and hot sauce. I mixed knorr chicken & Veggie flavored rice after everything else was cook then I combined all of the ingredients. It still turned out tasty. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Montclair, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
If it was possible I would give it 0 stars... I tried doing this in the crockpot as someone suggested. It had absolutely no flavor - we tasted no coconut nor curry, all cumin... maybe it would be better in the microwave - I don't know. However, I would not suggest trying this....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Made on the stove. This is good as written, but here are my mods: Use a whole can of coconut milk. Peas instead of lima beans. Add sweet potatoes, a bay leaf, a can of diced tomatoes, 1/4 c. of golden raisins, a bit more spice, and sometimes squash. Chop, dump in pot, saute the veggies a bit, then add the liquids and simmer for about 30 min. I add the chicken during the last 10 min. Everyone who tries it has loved it, including my 5-yr old. This has become a frequent go-to meal... an easy, everyone-likes-it, one-pot dinner that cooks up quickly and tastes fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was awesome! The only change I made is that I cooked on the stove, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIENNEROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Good, but you need to double the spices. Not exactly flavor country!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drmons

Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States