Chicken Stew With Coconut Milk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I put chicken & lima beans in the ingredient search, and this is the only recipe that came up. I actually had everything necessary, so I made it, and I was VERY pleasantly surprised. I didn't have enough chicken, I didn't use any onion, I used 2 large russet potatoes, a can of lima beans, drained, a 14.5-oz can of chopped tomatoes, drained, a whole can of coconut milk and chicken broth, cumin, curry and salt and pepper to taste. I didn't measure anything. Made on the stovetop. Browned the chicken first, then added the vegetables and seasoning. Stirred that around until the spices were fragrant, then added the chicken broth and coconut milk. Covered and let simmer about 40 minutes. Delicious! Even my super-picky husband liked it! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This is a great recipe that I cook on the stove. Freeze the rest for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Really like this stew, it's easy to make and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Absolutely suberb! I gave my parents some for their dinner too and they thought it tasted like something they'd get at a restaurant. It really was excellent! This will be one of my top 10 recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
One of my favorites. I use the whole can of coconut milk and diced tomatoes. Have made this over and over ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This smelled much more tantalizing than it tasted. I made it on the stove top because we do not use a microwave. I would probably make it again, but maybe I'll add the coconut milk at the very end of the cooking time to keep it creamier. When I made this, I couldn't even taste the coconut milk. Being a frequent diner at Asian/Indian restaurants, this dish seemed like it was missing something very significant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emigh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I gave this only 3 stars. It definitely thought something was very missing in the taste. It just did not have the zing I was looking for. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I tend to alter recipes a lot, and I saw that everyone said it was "missing something" but it was good. Here's some of what I did to fill out the flavor: -cooked on stove top in large iron pot -Sauteed onions and garlic until caramelized, then added carrots, then potatoes, then tomatoes, fresh parsley -added chx stock and kept reducing to create a kind of stock -added coconut milk, red pepper flakes, some chicken bouillion powder, curry powder, a little cumin, dried thyme -then added lima beans, then all chicken -cooked chx submerged about 20 or so minutes. - (I used skinless boneless thighs and legs) -a little corn starch w/ water in the end to thicken It came out great and didn't lack at all. I also didn't pay attention to the measurements and went by eye and taste. Too much coconut milk can make things taste too smooth and bland and covers flavors, so creating the condensed veggie "stock" and some chicken bouillion gave it the fullness to balance it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Pretty good for a quick fix. Like others, I cooked this on the stove top. I didn't have everything on hand so instead of canned tomatoes and lima beans I used fresh tomatoes and chickpeas. I also felt it lacked something, so right before serving I mixed in the juice of half a lime. Worked out great. Next time I'll probably add some thai basil. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States