Chicken Stew 'Fricot' Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
My family loved this meal!! My finiky 8 year old even ate this and asked for 2nds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
What a simple yet wonderful recipe. I added several cups of V-8 juice to the stew to add more flavor which it did. As one of the reviewers suggested, I also found a recipe for dumplings on this website and added to the stew. I loved the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I cook my chicken with water onion and spices in water first. I remove chicken to cool while I prepare vegetables and add pearl barley. After I add vegetables I remove skin and bones from chicken and add chicken back in. I use an ingredient I consider my flavour booster. I add small amount of sugar, try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Very good. I skinned the chicken before browning, substituted seasoned garlic salt and dried parsley for summer savory, and chicken broth in place of water. Also thickened up the broth with a flour/water paste before serving. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
if you want to make this recipe really good, add chicken broth instead of water and add a bit of cream and some flour to make a gravy----delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Suzanne Faucher-Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
It was pretty good. Not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VBSPENCER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Conyers, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
i am also an acadian and have made a similiar recipe many times,i however usually cook mine longer,at least 2 hours,so everything blends together,i dont use summer savory,i find the taste too bland,instead i use a little garlicpowder and dried parsley.also salted herbs are very nice to add.this recipe is excellent with beef,simply brown as told and let cook,the longer you cook,the softer it is.thanks for keeping the acadian food alive sophie,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I substituted turkey for chicken and it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELBY88

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
I thought this was very good. I wasn't sure what savory seasoning was so I added a pinch of thyme, tsp. of parsley and pinch of rosemary and I added one stalk of celery. I added the herbs when I added my water. Toward the end of cooking I added dumplings. I will make this again, it was lighter than chicken and dumplings and chicken and noodles. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
It was really good, and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States