Chicken, Spinach, and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
This soup is great! I added andouille sausage and red pepper flakes, reduced the liquid to 4 cups (2 cups stock, 1 cup white wine and 1 cup water), and browned the chicken thighs in oil and lemon pepper. After browning the chicken, I took it out to cut up, then cooked the garlic and onion in the same pot, then added the potatoes, liquid and cut-up chicken back in to cook together. This sped up the overall cooking time and also let the flavors meld together better. I put in the pre-cooked sausage (which made the dish in my opinion) at the same time as the beans and spinach. With the andouille sausage and red pepper flakes, this soup was a flavorful hit on a cold night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Made this last night with the chicken I had leftover from Christmas dinner. I sautéed the spinach and chickpeas in the onions, garlic and peppers to add a little flavor to them before combining with the broth, chicken and potatoes. My husband (who rarely compliments food) said "good soup, babe," so I'm giving this 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I thought this was quite bland. I added a tsp of curry powder which helped and then followed another reviewer's suggestion to thicken it up with a touch of the immersion blender. We'll eat it but I won't make it again without a lot of upgrades.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Outstanding! Served with some white rice and my kids couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
So tasty! Even my kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Came out very good, even on the first try. I used Cannellini beans instead of Garbanzo. Instead of cooking the potatoes and onions separate and then adding the chicken back in I just cooked them all together, let it simmer for 45 minutes, then added the beans, red pepper and spinach and let it simmer for another 20ish minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rehovot, Mehoz Hamerkaz, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great hearty soup but I substituted cannelllni beans instead of garbanzo beans and added a tablespoon of chili powder to give it a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
If I could, I would give it 10 stars!! I used cubed cooked chicken leg meat, lots of garlic, lots of onion and added grated white cheese on top. I added an individual portion of fresh spinach to each bowl, filled with soup and microwaved it for a couple of minutes. Yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by Allyx
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I just tried this soup for the first time and I was blown away by its flavor and all-around awesomeness! I made a few changes, based on the ingredients I had on hand: great northern beans instead of garbanzo; no peppers; forgot the cheese. I used turkey instead of chicken, and I used red potatoes. It is THE soup for non-soup people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
OMG this was sooo good and easy! I changed this up slightly, so that it was a one pot dish. I sauteed the onions and garlic, then pushed those to one side to brown the chicken in the same skillet. I deglazed with some red wine, since I had just opened a bottle. Then I added the potatoes and water/broth and simmered until everything was cooked through. I generally like thicker broths, while my fiance likes thinner broths, and this was a perfect compromise. Was also great because you could throw in any veggies that you have! We only had great northern beans, so I used those. I also didn't bother with the cheese because I thought it had plenty of flavor without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States