Chicken Spectacular Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
5 Stars Been using this recipe for over 20yrs. 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I have been making this casserole for over 20 years. I have found omitting the water chestnuts and using 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream gives this much better flavor and less crunch. And a whole onion is way too much. Try a 1/4-1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Excellent! I added extra water chestnuts, some celery, and jarred sliced mushrooms. Omitting the green beans as my fiancé doesn't care for them. I love that I didn't need to add any salt! Thanks for sharing, Jodi!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Very good! Crushed crackers on top before baking as suggested in earlier review. Others mentioned that the onions where over powering but I cut them in smaller pieces and we loved them. Did add a few dashes of curry and garlic powder. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEANN44

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I make this every year for Christmas and this year I am trying it with Turkey meat instead of Chicken. I have the turkey in the oven now and will use the turkey breast mostly and some nice thigh meat and chop it up real good. This freezes well and also can be made a day ahead of time and taken out and brought to room temp and then placed in the oven. It's so easy make and a nice one dish meal to scoop out while relaxing on a family day like Christmas. Due to our diabetes we typically avoid rice due to high carbs but on Christmas we treat ourselves to this yummy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shogan80

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I have made this for years, but never thought of using mayo, but it did add something extra. I use the Uncle Ben's long-grain and wild rice mix, as recommended in another post. Instead of the chicken I used crisp bacon, although either or both together would work well. I use toasted almond slivers instead of the water chestnuts, and prefer the frozen French-style green beans over the canned. I am not intending to change this wonderful recipe. It is just something I put together years ago and was surprised to see it on here. I guess great minds think alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Delicious! Made according to listed recipe ingredients/instructions with no changes. Rave reviews by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Very good . I made it with mushrooms,celery and red peppers instead of pimento. Loved the wild rice in this dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Good. A little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is a wonderful comfort food recipe!! I did modify a little with things that I had on hand. I used green chilies for the pimento and miracle whip for the mayo and I sprinkled cheddar cheese on top during the last few minutes in the oven. Even my picky eater enjoyed it and that is saying a lot, because she usually will not even look let alone eat a casserole. It is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suebesewing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Illinois, USA
Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States