Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Definitely a hit for our family barbecue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Berg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
The chicken is great, I make it frequently. If you let it marinate for 24 hours the chicken is so tender and juicy when you take it off the grill. I use a slightly different recipe fort tzatiki sauce, but this one is pretty good, just be sure to drain some of the liquid out of the yogurt otherwise it is too watery; I set the yogurt in a coffee filter in a large mug in the fridge for several hours before making the sauce. It is even better if you make it the day before so the flavors really blend (I put fresh dill in mine so the combination of the dill and cucumber really mix after a day).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This was fantastic! Like many other reviewers I didn't use the vinegar and just added extra lemon juice. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Good recipe. The marinade was great, the chicken came out very flavorful but slightly dry. This may have been due to the size of the chicken pieces. I will try larger pieces to see, next time. Also I agree with LYNNINMA about the tzatziki sauce, to replace the vinegar and add dill. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
The chicken was delicious. I cooked it under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delta, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This was so easy to put together, and was a big hit! I marinated for about 3 hours, and the chicken had already started 'cooking' from the lemon juice, so I probably wouldn't go much longer than that - but it tasted fantastic. I used a different tzatziki recipe - as another reviewer suggested, draining the cucumber is essential. I mixed the grated cucumber with some salt, and let it sit in a bowl for 15-20 minutes. Then I drained through a fine-mesh sieve and squeezed as much water out as I could. I used regular yogurt, drained through a coffee filter for 30 minutes, instead of Greek yogurt (that's what I had on hand), and also added some dried dilll, though fresh dill would be even better. Left out the vinegar and olive oil, and added some black pepper. I served the chicken on some pitas, with the tzatziki, black olives, sliced onions and tomatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I love tzatziki sauce. Soooo good. I added more lemon and oregano to the marinade. Make sure you squeeze the moisture out of the cucumber with paper towels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I used pork tenderloin stripped lengthwise,full milk yogurt, and a mix of lemon juice and tart orange juice in the marinade. I also added a drop of mint extract and marinated overnight in the refrigerator. I spiral wrapped the pork strips around the skewers,Sprinkled the kabobs with a pinch of coarse sea salt, wrapped the exposed wood in metal foil and broiled them in in my oven broiler, turning once to brown evenly---The gates of heaven opened widely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
My husband and I love this stuff! Made the recipe exactly as is, except used the oven broiler instead of the BBQ grill because we're still in the dead of winter. The tsatsiki sauce is to die for ... Will make again to serve with pita bread. A friend who owns a Mediterranean restaurant says the tip is to squeeze all/most of the water out of the cucumber. Before adding to the sauce. This recipe is delicious all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbies-girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montgomery Village, Maryland, USA
Photo by KristenCornell
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This recipe was great! Easy, fast, and delicious. No modifications necessary. I was only able to let marinade for 45 mins or so but still tasted amazing. It's winter and freezing here so I dumped the whole bag of chicken and marinade in a frying pan. Once the chicken was cooked, I took off the liquid and turned up the heat to brown the chicken. Every time I rotated the chicken I spooned some of the sauce back in the pan. Came out juicy inside and crunchy on the inside-just perfect! Everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Grilled chicken kabobs with Greek-inspired flavors and cucumber yogurt sauce.

Chicken Chimichangas with Sour Cream Sauce

See how to make cheesy chicken chimichangas in a savory sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States