Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
If you're used to canned chicken soup this is tasty but that's my problem. Getting away from canned soup means getting hardy flavor without all the salt and msg. That means creating taste without the use of the same chicken base used to make canned soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Kinda boring as is...the 2nd time I used chicken thighs, onions, carrots, parsnip, garlic, celery, chicken seasoning and didn't have to use a chicken flavor base. Doesn't take a lot to make good chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This soup lacked flavor. I suggest finding another recipe or taking the recommendation of other reviewers and using leftover bones from the chicken to make the base for the soup. I also didn't like the lack of celery or noodles as other reviewers have also commented on. There are much better recipes on this site for chicken soup. I did like the idea of adding zucchini for a twist on the traditional soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bggv62
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I use chicken breasts slowly boiled in homemade broth (or left over chicken from a roasted whole chicken) freshly minced garlic, torn spinach leaves, a little onion powder, freshly ground pepper. I use a small pasta like acini de peppe or orzo. As well as shell or egg noodle. The final touch is gramma's recipe for dumplings! There is no end to what can be used in homemade soup - even like rosemary a whole new taste! chicken soup is food for the SOUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bggv62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sturtevant, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Very good I added orzo and it made a nice add on to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jhelwig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I didn't care for. Don't need to make it again, st least, not for me. mj
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
A good soup base...but just note that any bullion has a ton of msg. Organic chicken broth is much better for you, and easier on your stomach:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
This soup is good. I used celery, spaetzle noodles and added more water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I make this recipe at least once a week all winter. Instead of water use low fat/salt chicken broth. I use the individually wrapped chicken cutlets--no need to pre-cook, just cook in the broth for about 20 minutes..shred just before serving. Cook small pasta separately, into a bowl goes the pasta, soup and grated cheese. A little Italian bread and you have a very quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States