Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I didn't use zucchini. I used onion, carrots, and celery for the veggies. I also used chicken broth instead of water to give it more flavor. I tripled the recipe to save for lunches or dinners this week. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This recipe is so easy! I used "Better Than Bouillon" Chicken base, and used about 3 times the amount in the recipe. I also used celery in place of zucchini, and I sauteed the garlic, carrots and celery before adding the water. Excellent for a sick family on a cold winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I added turmeric, Italian seasoning, avocados, noodles, bell peppers, red and white onions, lemon juice, cherry tomatoes, fresh basil, bay leaves, squash, zucchini. It was amazing! I also cooked everything in low sodium chicken broth instead of water. I served them with wedge fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Cook with Love

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I added parsley, basil, onions, celery, garlic and pepper & then it was great! This is a good basic recipe to start with and add items for extra flavor. One other thing I added, since I didn't have zucchini on hand was a bunch of Swiss chard. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I make a soup just like this when I'm feeding kids who usually prefer plain, clean, simple tastes, but I tweak it a bit when I'm feeding everyone else like this: add enough oil (use garlic or basil or rosemary flavored olive oil if possible) to coat the bottom of your cooking pot and let it warm. Add some torn celery leaves, verrry thinly sliced celery, carrots & garlic. You can vary the amount of veggies you add by how much chicken pieces you add but, please, the veggies must be fresh -- not canned or frozen -- for this to work. Turn the heat down and sweat the veggies til fragrant -- you DO NOT want to burn any of them, so keep an eye on it and don't be tempted to turn the heat up. When the oil & the veggies are beginning to smell stronger, add your water, chicken, stock cubes (we like Trader Joe's chicken bouillen sachets)and the rest of the ingredients. Toss some chopped parsley & finely diced white onion into the soup when it's almost done or sliced green onions & a tiny bit of dill weed and or noodles or rice. Yumm! (and sooo easy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina's mama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
It's a great base to tweek it to your taste.I used 2 1/2 cups of diced cooked left-over chicken, 2 cups water and 2 cups of chicken broth, 2 cups carrots chopped, 4 diced garlic cloves, 2 med diced white onions 2 med. diced potatoes 1/3 diced red pepper, 2 diced cellery stalks, 2 Tbsp brown sugar,1 1/2 Tbsp Worcester sauce, a big thumb sized peeled and thinly sliced ginger , 1 Tbsp of Chineese 5 spice, 1 cup of small elbow pasta.....;I sauteed onion and garlic in oil and butter mix, added cellery and when the carrots and potatoes had boiled for 10 minutes added them to the onions and garlic. Then added all other ingredients except pasta.When I felt everything was ready, I added the "el dente" pasta. Poured all into a cooking pot,(Dutch Oven) and simmered a little while, till the pasta was "just Right" and served......Got RAVE reviews....Bon Appetit, ...John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Robert

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I have not tried this recipe, but the picture shows corn not zucini and I would like to know how much corn was used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This was very easy to make but a bit watery and a little lacking in flavour. The 2nd time I tried it I used some broth made from a previously boiled chicken carcass instead of the water. I always have some of this in my freezer as I hate waste. I then followed the rest of the recipe but added some chopped leek and some "microwave in 2 mins" rice just before serving to thicken the soup a little. These slight changes made all the difference. I'll be making this very easy soup with my little extras regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Very nice one &easy to make . Thanks to all recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
If you're used to canned chicken soup this is tasty but that's my problem. Getting away from canned soup means getting hardy flavor without all the salt and msg. That means creating taste without the use of the same chicken base used to make canned soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States