Chicken Soup Au Pistou Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Very good soup. I subbed garbanzo beans, simply because that's what I had on had, and used a green pepper instead of the carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Miaka
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Need more broth, beside that it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Pretty good. I used some leftover rotisserie chicken and just added it in toward to end. I didn't have green beans, so I left them out, plus I doubled the pesto per serving and stirred it in to the soup itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Love this soup! My only changes were I used1-1/2 pounds of chicken tenderloins instead of 1/2 pound breast, petite diced tomatoes instead of whole, a can of Italian green beans (drained) instead of frozen and some garlic powder. The dollop of pesto is what makes this soup special. Soooo good on a cold evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Gnome

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This soup was very good, even my fiance liked it. I added the pesto to the soup pot just before taking it off of the heat. It was good before the addition of the pesto, but it adds just a little something extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made this at the last minute on a rainy Friday night after a hectic week. It was simple to prepare and hugely comforting to my family. I did add a couple of bay leaves and since I didn't have any pesto handy, added chopped parsley instead. It was delicious and tasted even better the next day for lunch. A perfect light meal with warm rolls/bread and fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by iamchanelle
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
this was delicious!!!!! the only changes i made: i used fresh green beans, and stirred the pesto directly into the soup pot. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamchanelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
Great soup--quick, easy, and husband and 2 young sons love it. We're not crazy about pesto, so leave it out along with the green beans and sometimes substitute pasta (bowties, alphabet) for the potatoe. Wonderful served with garlic cheese bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This is an excellent soup. I think the pesto adds a wonderful savory dimension so unless you dislike pesto, be sure to add a dollop to the top before you serve and then stir it in. I made only some minor additions to the recipe, and that was about a 1/4 tsp. of dried thyme and a Tbsp. of good quality margarine(watching calories). The latter contributed richness to the soup without alot of added fat. I'm going to try this again and make it with roasted chicken, although it's very good as is. Husband liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2000
This soup was greatly enjoyed by my 82-year old father-in-law. I used canned green beans and omitted the pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States