Chicken Sopa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
i cooked chicken breast in a skillet with cumin and a little oregano( sounds weird tasted great) and i heated up 2 cans of cream of chicken (no mushroom) to the soup i added a little cumin(to taste) green chilies ,salt and pepper and a little chili powder(to taste) and since i was making posloe(enchilada sauce with a little water might work) anyways I added about 3-4tbls of the sauce to the soup mix and to the top. I should have doubled this recipe as it was that good...my family loved it! thanks for the share....I would have made it as the recipe says but as i was making this it was kinda bland for Mexican food...so I had to add....but wow yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyasalways32

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
A quick and easy dish to make that even my picky eaters enjoyed. I used flour tortillas instead of corn tortillas. I didn't have any chillies on hand, so I substitued "Sweet Jalepenos" YUMMY! I think since my picky ones don't like mushrooms, i'll try it with cream of Celery next time. We will definately have this again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Good stuff. I made some alterations (bc I didnt have some ingredients) 1) I skipped the cream of mushroom, and cream of chicken. 2) I used about 1/2 cup of chicken broth. 3) I cook for 2, so I only used 3 pieces of bonelss skinless chicken thighs (which I seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and let them sit in the fridge for a few hours...but thats not neccessary) 5)I cut the thighs to bite-sized sized and sauteed until cooked through...aprox 6-8 mins). 6) followed insturctions as posted..using a smaller pan of course. WILL MAKE AGAIN!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I too, took out the mushroom soup, and used Fiesta Nacho Cheese, I also added a can of black beans. It came out AMAZING. Super quick, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Would be better with a little salsa or enchilada sauce for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hgw.kleck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This recipe is delicious! I used tortillia chips and added a drained can of pinto beans. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is similar to the Chicken Sopa that our family has enjoyed for almost 40 years. Ours uses cream of chicken soup (not mushroom), 1 stick of butter, one large onion (chopped), 1 can of evaporated milk, and only 1/3 cup of a can of diced green chiles. In our version, you saute the chopped onion and green chiles in the stick of butter until the onions are clear. Add the soup and evaporated milk. Layer in a greased casserole dish: tortillas, soup, chicken, cheese--until all ingredients have been used. Top with remaining shredded cheese. If you use flour tortillas, they melt into the casserole. Corn tortillas retain their shape. Both are good...just be prepared for the difference in texture. never used Rotel tomatoes in it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Similar to one I make.....saute one chopped onion and rather than diced green chilis, add 1 can Rotel tomatoes....you can use mild, regular or hot depending on your taste. . 2 cups of cheese rather than one. Yum. It's been a dish I've made for over 30 years and all love it. I actually just add all together in a bowl except the corn tortillas and then layer tortilla and mixture. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I thought this was very good, (I like creamy dishes) although my husband wasn't quite as impressed. I am gluten free, so it was nice that the recipe used corn tortillas. I couldn't find gluten free cream of chicken soup, and the cream of mushroom was not condensed. I cut the recipe down to serve 3 (more than enough), used one 18 ounce can of gluten free cream of mushroom soup, and a little less broth than what the recipe called for. It worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
This was overall a great recipe. I made a few changes to it though... First, as others suggested, I omitted the chicken broth. I only had Cream of Mushroom soup, so I used 2 cans of that instead. I also had a can of Ro*tel, so I used that in place of the green chiles. I also added a layer of Spanish rice between the tortillas and chicken mixture... it seemed to bulk it up into a meal better. My hubby couldn't stop telling me how delicious it was.. I will be putting this one into my monthly rotation! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paintforthepoor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States