Chicken Shwarma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
We loved this one. The chicken was so tender and flavorful. I grilled it on our cast iron griddle, which always seems to add some additional flavor. I also grilled some red onion slices, which turned out to be a good compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This wasn't bad and was pretty quick to make. I do reccommend cutting back on the malsala some and add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I thought this seasoned the chicken pretty well. I made naan bread today and wanted some flavored chicken to put on it. I had about 3/4 of a lb. of chicken, so I reduced the butter and seasoning to 2 Tblsp of butter and about 1 Tblsp of garam masala and it was plenty. I used a garam masala recipe from this site. With chopped dill pickles and garlic sauce it all went good together per other recipe suggestions. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Not being very familiar with Indian cooking, I had no idea how this would turn out. I was pleasantly surprised, though. The chicken has a wonderful flavor, this is a simple recipe, and you don't have a "naked" chicken when you are finished cooking! Frying with the clarified butter allowed the chicken to brown nicely without burning. I did add a little salt, sprinkled on at the end of cooking. I served this with basmati rice, creamed spinach and naan, and the family enjoyed the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Over all a very good basic recipe. Needs a little something more. I did the onions and such like most others but still needs more garlic and definitely a yogurt sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was the easiest to make. A unique flavor. Don't go light on the garam masala, use all that's called for! We fought over the pieces with the most spice. A dash of sea salt may be needed & that made my little kids all LOVE it! We added a couple more tablespoons of butter and let the chicken simmer while the rest of dinner finished cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was quite good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I hoped that my Middle-Eastern husband would like this one, but he didn't. He found it to be too sweet. I thought it was ok, but it's just not the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This recipe was really good. I know it wasn't exactly traditional, but for someone just learning to cook, it was great. This time, I added homemade hummus. I think next time I'll add yogurt, onions, and maybe some peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I make this at least once a month, usually more. Pile it on flatbread with tzatziki sauce and hummus and serve with greek salad. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States