Chicken Shwarma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
This recipes is fantastic! It's easy to make and tastes fabulous - a nice change from day-to-day chicken. I ran out of garam masala and substituted with mutton masala - it tasted even better. Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
Very good and very easy to make. Like other reviewers I sauted an onion and green pepper with additional garam masala. Also, I didn't have clarified butter (I only had Country Crock and I wasn't sure how that would turn out clarified) so I used olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Shwarma is a middle eastern dish and this recipe though not traditional is very good. After the chicken is done saute sliced onion and green bell pepper in the clarified butter until onions change color to a light golden brown. Serve chicken with the sauted veggies rolled in warmed pita bread. Accompany this with some plain or spiced yogurt on the side and you have great meal. I went back and changed my ratings from 4 to 5 stars as this dish gets better everytime I make it. The last time I made it I served it with some hummus on the side and a green salad. Thanks for this easy yet outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was the easiest to make. A unique flavor. Don't go light on the garam masala, use all that's called for! We fought over the pieces with the most spice. A dash of sea salt may be needed & that made my little kids all LOVE it! We added a couple more tablespoons of butter and let the chicken simmer while the rest of dinner finished cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I make this at least once a month, usually more. Pile it on flatbread with tzatziki sauce and hummus and serve with greek salad. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This recipe was really good. I know it wasn't exactly traditional, but for someone just learning to cook, it was great. This time, I added homemade hummus. I think next time I'll add yogurt, onions, and maybe some peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This tasted great for such a simple recipe. I was in the mood for Indian food, but didn't want to spend a lot of time cooking, and this was a great alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I thought this seasoned the chicken pretty well. I made naan bread today and wanted some flavored chicken to put on it. I had about 3/4 of a lb. of chicken, so I reduced the butter and seasoning to 2 Tblsp of butter and about 1 Tblsp of garam masala and it was plenty. I used a garam masala recipe from this site. With chopped dill pickles and garlic sauce it all went good together per other recipe suggestions. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Over all a very good basic recipe. Needs a little something more. I did the onions and such like most others but still needs more garlic and definitely a yogurt sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Not being very familiar with Indian cooking, I had no idea how this would turn out. I was pleasantly surprised, though. The chicken has a wonderful flavor, this is a simple recipe, and you don't have a "naked" chicken when you are finished cooking! Frying with the clarified butter allowed the chicken to brown nicely without burning. I did add a little salt, sprinkled on at the end of cooking. I served this with basmati rice, creamed spinach and naan, and the family enjoyed the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States