Chicken Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I made this tonight, though admittedly, I took great liberties. I had some leftover chicken I'd cooked in the crock pot, and some leftover mashed potatoes. So I followed some of the recipe. I put the cooked chicken in my dish, topped it with some salt, pepper and I think I sprinkled on some thyme for good measure. I topped that with some chopped onion, some corn I cut off an ear I had in the fridge, and a good amount of frozen peas and carrots I had in my freezer. Oh, and some shredded cheese. Then I heated up the leftover mashed potatoes, just so they would be easier to spread. Then I sprinkled some more cheese on top and cooked according to the recipe, although I think I may have let it cook a bit longer. Anyway, the hubs and I both agreed it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Ferguson Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Possibilities all over. I could not weigh my leftover cooked chicken.... needed more. The potatoes never browned even with additional time. I added onions and Pace Picante Sauce. I will make it again, even for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I loved this receipe based on others recommendations, the only changes I made was to saute the onion, red pepper and 2 stalks of celery in a little eeov, added 1 can cream of mushroom soup and substituted the corn with 1 cup of each frozen green beans and peas. I cheated with Idahoan Garlic mashed potatoes ( I should have used 2 bags, I will next time) Baked for 1 hour at 350 because I used a 2 1/2 round casserole dish. Delicious leftovers. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I used others' suggestions and sauteed my chicken in red wine to add flavor. Then, I mixed all of the veggies with Cream of Mushroom soup and topped with mashed potatoes. Something is definitely missing from this dish. I'm not sure I would make this again. Too much work for disappointing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
If you have "wet/loose" potatos you don't need the soup. If your potatos are stiff, you do. 1/2 tsp of dry thyme & sage is plenty! Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I also made modifications, and it was very tasty. Added onions and mushrooms, then cooked ground chicken in. Then I added organic mushroom soup to give it some moisture, just enough to keep it from being dry. I added more corn probably 11/2 cups and a layer of peas in same qty. I didn't use the pepper. Also for my garlic I skin it and let it boil with potatoes and just mash it in. Gives a lovely mild garlic favour that is not too over powering. An d a little more cheese on top. Everyone had seconds:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
So good! Made enough to feed my husband and I for a few meals. It's just as good reheated too. Picky husband of mine even liked it enough to get over the bell peppers haha! Will use regularly, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
SUPER!!! Especially the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I gave this recipe a 5 and my husband gave it a 3 so I have rounded it to a 4. I will definitely be making this again. A great way to use up chicken dinner left-overs. I will be using dried rosemary next time as the fresh rosemary was a little bitter. At the recommendation of others I added a can of cream of mushroom soup on top of the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
love this however i topped mine with honey cornbread mixed, just made up the batter and poured it over the pie and spinkled a lil more cheese on it bingo perfection!! thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States