Chicken Shawarmas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe and very easy. I had doubts about the chicken and mayo but it turned out great. I did make some more additons though : Instead of full mayo, I added some plain yogurt as well. I also made a tahini sauce with sesame seeds, olive oil and garlic. The pickles add a lot IMO. Along with this, I added lettuce, tomatoes and onion slices. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Ohmygoodness! These are delicious. My husband and I were looking for something comparable to our favorite Mediterranean restaurant, and I think we found it. The ingredients are so simple that I was honestly surprised at how great it turned out. I am kind of wishing that I had doubled the recipe now so that we could have more leftovers for tomorrow, but I will just have to make this again soon. I was leery about the pickles, but I really think that this would taste kind of plain if they weren't in it. So good! With as much as we liked this, we will probably be making this every week, and that is not like me at all. Thank you for this fabulous recipe, Luke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Oh YUM...We LOVED these!!! I have never had/cooked with garam masala, so I wasn't sure what to expect, but it was wonderful! I also seasoned the chicken with salt pepper and garlic powder (along w/ the garam masala) for extra flavor. I opted to use flatbreads because I felt it would hold up better, and I wasn't disappointed. I only had sliced pickles on hand, so I went with it. Oh, and the garlic mayo just put this over the top! I really couldn't believe how these simple ingredients ended up being such a delicous sandwich...hubby was even impressed! I will definately be making these again, for sure! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
It was wonderful. I put lettuce in the pita instead of pickles. I also use Creole seasoning instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COACHINGVOLLEYBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I used hummus instead of the mayo mixture, vegetarian "chicken" with curry powder, lettuce, and pickles. It was delicious. My husband liked it too. Thanks for the recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The ones in Qatar had fries in them lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
RECIPE GROUP: Yum yum yum. DBF actually said, out loud, "it's like a party in my mouth!" He doesn't really talk like that, so, obviously this was a huge win. It was super easy too, once I got past the garam masala (had sticker shock at the grocery store so decided to make my own, using 'Easy Garam Masala' from this site). Somehow managed to run out of fresh garlic so had to use powder :( but that won't happen again! Helped that my pickles were homemade and super garlicky. Loved the ease of preparation and fabulous flavor, can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I did not follow the recipe directions on preparing these. Instead of placing the pita bread flat, then piling the ingredients on top,folding and serving, I placed my Toufayan Pita rounds between two damp paper towels and placed in the microwave for less than a minute. Removed from the microwave, laid the rounds flat and cut in half, making two halves. I then took my fingers and lifted the cut edges up to form the pita pockets – no tears in the pita bread and no mess when enjoying the ingredients inside the pocket. I used McCormicks ® Gourmet Collection Master Blends Garam Masala and Mt. Olive Deli Style Kosher Dill Relish made with sea salt. Mrs. J, another Buzz Recipe Group participant, suggested the minced garlic be combined with honey to alleviate the “skunky taste" of the garlic and I followed her suggestion which was spot on. We enjoyed the Chicken Shawarmas and will be making again. Thank you for sharing your easy, quick and tasty recipe, Luke Summers. Recipe Group Selection on June 7, 2014.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by RU hungry
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I tried this TWICE! The first time, I had to agree with some of the reviews, the chicken is a little bland on the inside. BUT having said that, I think I cut my chicken pieces a little too big the first time. When I did it again, I learned from my mistakes and (1) cut the pieces up SMALLER and (2) marinated the chicken in salt, pepper, oregano, oil and garam masala for a couple of hours. It was delicious! I don't know why there were left overs but when I tasted the chicken shawarma the next day, it tasted even BETTER than the night I cooked it! Since I ran out of pita, I added the chicken to greens and had a CHICKEN SHAWARMA SALAD! :-p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 07, June 2014 ~ Shawarmas and garam masala were two new items for our family to experience. I used 'Easy Garam Masala' from AR in this recipe, and just cut the recipe back to one-fourth the amount due to me using 1 large chicken breast. I bought pita bread at our favorite Greek restaurant to use with this recipe. We liked the taste and I liked the ease of the recipe, but felt it needed lettuce and tomatoes and maybe some onions added. We really enjoyed the taste of the garam masala and I look forward to using it again. This is a good wrap, and I plan on making it again, just will added the above mentioned veggies. These were served with 'Good for You Greek Salad' and 'Buttery Pecan Green Beans' both from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Chicken Shawarma

See how to make a truly flavorful chicken sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States