Chicken Seitan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
As far as seitan goes this is pretty good. I have tried to make seitan a few times and this was definitely the best one I've tried (easy and similar in taste to the store-bought kind. I didn't use the dashi kombu because I live in a rural area that doesn't sell it; it still turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MT Girl
Living In: Havre, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
this was wonderful! my partner absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I will say that it had excellent flavor, it soaked up so much into it. However, it came out very spongey, not quite seitan. I will try a second batch another time and see how that on fairs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This turned out very tasty -- I was quite pleased by the flavour. I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corbet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Strwbrrykizzes
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
As one reviewer mentioned already, this does have a much spongier texture than the seitan recipe I was used to working with, but I rather like that, especially for vegetarian chicken salad recipes. I prefer to use the chewier texture for things like stews and casseroles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I've always baked my seitan in the oven because boiling it always seemed wrong to me, but I thought I'd give this a try since everyone seemed to like it... Suffice it to say I'm glad I halved the recipe first. The end product was spongey and SO salty. The flavor wouldn't have been bad had it not been so salty, but the texture was just not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
The seitan is much less 'spongey' if you put the seitan in cold broth and then bring it up to a simmer instead of dropping it in boiling broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I've made seitan a few different ways (baked, steamed and wrapped in cheesecloth then simmered) but I've never made it by dropping it directly in simmering broth as in this recipe and I don't think I will again. I knew seitan expanded as it cooked but this absolutely exploded in size. There was already too much liquid in the dough itself. As I was needing it I squeezed out at least 1/4 cup. Then the simmering added even more liquid to the chunks. I wasn't crazy about the spongy texture once it was done cooking so I squeezed out as much liquid as I could. It came to almost 2 cups. And even though I added extra seasoning and some vegetarian chicken broth powder to both the dough and broth it was still very bland in flavor. I didn't add the kombu (not available around here) but I can't imagine that would have improved the flavor that much. I will use the seitan I made but I don't think I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Chicken Marsala

This amazing, company-worthy chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Fresh Herb & Vegetable Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a prize-winning veggie, chicken, and herb lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States