Chicken Scallopini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Excellent recipe - it was delicious. I didn't have white wine so I used chicken broth and increased the amount for sauce. No glaze either but chopped portabella mushrooms worked well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This dish is a standard in our household. We love it with steamed broccoli, and perhaps garlic mashed potatoes. Another reviewer is confused over the term "scallopini", which refers to the thin slices of meat used in the picatta recipe. Once you have dredged the scallopini in seasoned flour, dip it in an egg/Parmesan cheese wash before turning it into your hot skillet. Just brown the scallopini, don't fully cook, as you can return it for one last cook/ warm up at the end (careful not to overcook the chicken!). If you do not have fresh chicken stock for Demi-glacing the pan, use any liquid canned chicken broth. Reduce the broth with the lemon juice, butter, olive oil, garlic, and white wine to concentrate the flavors. Add some fresh thyme and fresh chopped parsley to taste now (no stems). When ready, return your scallopinis to the skillet for a final warm-up and add capers to taste. I like lots. Try this recipe with veal or sliced beef tenderloin also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Excellent dish. Taste even better if a bottle of wine is consumed during preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Loved it! Didn't have mushrooms but they'd have been welcome! I didn't think it needed lemon juice or the demi-glace. I'll definitely be making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Fixed this tonight and loved it!! Could not find chicken flavored demi-glace so substituted this for chicken broth. Wonderful! Sliced green olives would be good in place of the capers. I will try this next time. My favorite Italian restaurant serves a similar dish they call Chicken picata. I served this over a small portion of spaghetti. Two large chicken breast sliced as stated and pounded is enough for four servings if you are a light eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayakjoan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Tequesta, Florida, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This dish is not new to me at all, and I have always loved it. But I've always used chicken broth wih the wine and lemon juice, never demi-glace. The demi-glace made it even better - richer, with a more full-bodied flavor. An excellent, solid 5-star recipe. I would just caution against cooking the chicken for 6-8 minutes on each side. A few minutes on each side, just until the chicken turns opaque, is all this needs. Even a minute or two of overcooking can easily take this from moist and tender to tough and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I love these ingredients. I also add artichoke hearts. Yumm! I also increase the ingredients for the sauce so that there's plenty for the rice. I use chicken tenderloins, the perfect size and shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Made this last night - this is a keeper. Did not make any changes to recipe. Recipe was so simple, but elegant enough for guests or a romantic dinner. I served it with rice pilaf and broiled asparagus drizzled with olive oil, S&P, and roasted minced garlic. Found the demi-glace at Williams Sonoma. pinot grigio wine was great with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by april

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I didn't have a problem with this. I used chicken bouillon paste (Better Than Bouillon, brand name). I think if you just pound the breasts without the surgery is fine. The recipe is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MtnNanny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Absolutely AWESOME. This was supurb. I substituted chicken broth for the deglaze. I will definately do this one again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States