Chicken Scallopini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This one got rave reviews at my table! I can't eat garlic, so I nixed that and used a mix of regular olive oil and butter. I noticed that one other review used EVOO, but I don't ever heat EVOO. Don't like the flavor. I used chicken TENDERS sprinkled with a tiny bit of water and pounded between pIieces of wax paper, cut them in half so they were about three inches wide, dredged in Wondra flour, salt and pepper, then arranged them in the hot oil/butter. Quickly browned (2 minutes each side), then removed to a 2" deep casserole. We love mushrooms, so I increased to 8 oz. and browned them with salt and pepper. I spread the mushrooms over the chicken pieces. I did not have demi-glace, and when I went to my cupboard, I realized I did not have chicken stock. Panic! All I had was organic beef broth! My other choice was water, so I used about 1/2 cup of the beef broth, then white wine and the juice of one lemon. I poured the liquid over the chicken/mushroom and sealed with tin foil. At 350, I cooked for an additional 30 minutes, opened the foil and added the capers. Turned the oven off, but left the casserole in the oven while sauteeing leftover spaghetti in olive oil. Served the pasta on the side and had plenty of sauce to drizzle over both. This was delicious and that little bit of beef broth did not harm it in the least. Chicken was tender. My husband "yummed" all through dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Get out the pounder! You can also make scallopini (which simply means pancake) by putting the raw meat in a plastic bag and pounding it flat (or nearly flat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinemabon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
This is the first time I used a demi-glace and went to the store especially to get it but the sauce was sooooooo salty it could not be eaten (and I love salty food). I didn't use the sauce and all I had left to use was a can of chicken broth and some lemon juice which I added to the mushroom and capers but that was good. The chicken was nice and tender but I guess you have to use that demi-glace very sparingly and definitely not 2 tabelspoons! I will try it again and adjust the demi-glace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I liked this but didn't love it. My husband liked it better than I did. The capers really make it tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, New York, USA
Living In: Sharpsburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Excellent! I would serve it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Good recipe. My children, ages 13 and7, along with my husband enjoyed the meal. I served with a side of pasta. My husband even enjoyed the left over chicken (and it is rare that he likes anything but pizza leftover).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was fabulous! It was delicious and I would make it for company. It seemed good restaurant quality. I could not find the chicken demiglace anywhere. I could find beef and veal demiglace but not chicken. Because it was getting late and I was not about to hit another store, I ended up substituting with chicken stock and a little flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Tender, tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Outstanding! A few minor changes and this is restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
LOVED LOVED LOVED this. After browning Chicken pieces, Simmered in white wine and a touch if sherry for aver an hour. Covered. Prior to serving uncovered and reduced sauce. Added capers. Placed chicken on top of platter of whole wheat spaghetti that was left over and then, when sauce reduced, poured over chicken and then served. May be the BEST chicken Ive EVER had. My husband loved it and I definitely will make for guests!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

How to Make Chicken Parmesan

Discover the secret to Chef John’s perfect chicken parmesan.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States