Chicken Savoy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
One of the biggest challenges with chicken breast is keeping it moist. This recipe succeeds. My husband called it excellent. I marinated the chicken pieces in the oil, broth, spices and red wine vinegar (instead of basalmic) inside a ziploc bag while the chicken defrosted. Then I dumped it all in a corning ware baking dish with skin side down. Roasted at 450 degrees for 25 minutes, then flipped the chicken to be skin side up, sprinkled with parmesan cheese and reduced heat to 400 degrees. Another 25 minutes and the chicken was perfect. All liquid had dried up but chicken was tender and moist (I am not sure where others got "gravy"). Delish! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAMAMIMI
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I actually made a "paste" by pureeing the olive oil, dried herbs and cheese and spread it on top of the chicken (skin-side) after browning it in a cast-iron skillet. After baking, I drained off the excess olive oil. Then, mixed the skillet drippings with red wine vinegar (not balsamic), reduced a bit, and spooned over baked chicken. I usually don't even eat dark meat, but this was absolutely delish! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMAMIMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Made this again last night, adding Italian Dressing mix and substituting Italian seasoning for the oregano. I also sprinkled with GOOD balsamic vinegar before baking, then adding more before serving. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I was skeptical...after pouring on the vinegar at the end I was sure I had just ruined the whole thing...but it ended up working very well. I cooked it slowly using an old hen we had butchered. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Gosh, this one just didn't work for me. We were not even close to a nice crispy crust. Just chicken stewing in an oily vinegary broth. I do not know where I went wrong, but I must have taken a left at Albuquerque. Won't try again despite such glowing rewviews from others
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I ama regular at the Belmont and will go there on Mondays to see some friends. When we can't get there or they have "run out of food" =Chicken with skin- a whole cut up - just not "skinny chicken" thighs drums split breasts-- the skin holds the flavors. I do marinate - I do use Red wine vinegar- this is not a fancy place - so fancy style is not authentic-- The secret is the cheese and the oregano and the vinegar at the end ...JUST DO IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
You are right! It is the best! But unfortunately, as many people are confused about Stretch's recipe, he uses red wine vinegar and cooks it to a darker color and adds balsamic at the end for that famous sweetness that balsamic vinegar inherently possesses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Great recipe! Nice addition to my chicken menu options. I used chicken breasts and Parmesan cheese - fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This was very bland. Was hoping for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was good but not better than many other chicken recipes. I made it just as directed and it was easy but not special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States