Chicken Savoy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This was great! Amazingly simple, and my husband loved it. He doesn't typically care for eating meat off the bone, but loved the flavor. I took some of the suggestions I found from other reviewers. Used extra garlic (we're big fans) and put a little on each piece of chicken. I also used red wine vinegar instead of balsamic - poured it over the chicken about 15 minutes before it was time to take it out. Skin was crispy and the dish had a subtle but pleasant flavor; and the house smelled wonderful! Will definitely make again and have passed it on to several friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HLC_Indy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
We really liked it. No crazy flavors - just yummy comfort food. Likle others - I did make a few changes. I upped the garlic (3 cloves, minced), subbed italian seasoning for oregano (heaping tsp), added to chicken broth and olive oil and marinated all day. I kind of pulled the skin back on the pcs and smooshed them down into the marinade. When it was time to cook I placed the chicken in the baking dish, smoothed back the skin and poured the marinade over the top. I cooked for 1 hour at 450, occasionally spooning the saauc eove rthe chicken. I added the balsamic vinegar and sprinkled with parmesan 15 minutes before it came out. Chicken was flavorful and juicy with cripy skin. It makes a tasty, brothy, somewhat oily sauce that was delicious spooned over the chicken and the roasted potatoes I made as a side. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I've put dry pasta or long cooking rice in the bottom of the pan. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I liked it fine, but wasn't "wowed." My husband - food snob - seemed to react the same way. My kids liked it much more, but they're kids. I made the recipe as-is, except I used only thighs and I used Parm instead of Romano cheese. I also cut slits in the meat to help penetrate. I felt like the spices should go on before the oil and stock, but I like to try recipes as-is before making changes. Next time I'll try it "my way" and see if the flavor penetrates more. Also, I didn't really notice the balsamic vinegar, so maybe I'll pour it over each individual portion as serving next time, instead of over the entire thing before serving (seemed to just run off into the baking dish). On the whole, the flavors were nice and I'll make again, but changes will be tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Great dish that was a big hit with the entire table! Per a previous suggestion, I used 4 cloves of garlic, used almost 1/4 c of olive oil and a dash of red pepper flakes. I also marinated the chicken for several hours before cooking it, which I did at 425 for 45 mins. I waited until 10 mins before the end of cooking to add the cheese. Results: still a mild garlic flavor, but the balsamic vinegar really sets the dish. I will DEFINITELY be making this again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jake's Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
The oregano and balsamic vinegar are a great combination. We loved this simple to prepare recipe and will have it often. Thanks, Joe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I added this recipe seven years ago and still make it today. It is awesome and comes very close to the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Messig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Followed this recipe as is with the exception of using leg quarters. Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Humm, this was just OK. I really didn't think it had all that much flavor. I was expecting a flavor burst of some kind by reading the reviews. The chicken did come out moist, but I thought it was lacking something. Sorry, I really tried to like this but,I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Wow! I made this last night and absolutely loved it. I used boneless chicken breasts and also added basil like someone else suggested, as well using LOTS of garlic. My boyfriend loved this dish; we will definitely be having it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States