Chicken Savoy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I liked it fine, but wasn't "wowed." My husband - food snob - seemed to react the same way. My kids liked it much more, but they're kids. I made the recipe as-is, except I used only thighs and I used Parm instead of Romano cheese. I also cut slits in the meat to help penetrate. I felt like the spices should go on before the oil and stock, but I like to try recipes as-is before making changes. Next time I'll try it "my way" and see if the flavor penetrates more. Also, I didn't really notice the balsamic vinegar, so maybe I'll pour it over each individual portion as serving next time, instead of over the entire thing before serving (seemed to just run off into the baking dish). On the whole, the flavors were nice and I'll make again, but changes will be tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Great dish that was a big hit with the entire table! Per a previous suggestion, I used 4 cloves of garlic, used almost 1/4 c of olive oil and a dash of red pepper flakes. I also marinated the chicken for several hours before cooking it, which I did at 425 for 45 mins. I waited until 10 mins before the end of cooking to add the cheese. Results: still a mild garlic flavor, but the balsamic vinegar really sets the dish. I will DEFINITELY be making this again. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jake's Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
The oregano and balsamic vinegar are a great combination. We loved this simple to prepare recipe and will have it often. Thanks, Joe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I added this recipe seven years ago and still make it today. It is awesome and comes very close to the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Followed this recipe as is with the exception of using leg quarters. Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Humm, this was just OK. I really didn't think it had all that much flavor. I was expecting a flavor burst of some kind by reading the reviews. The chicken did come out moist, but I thought it was lacking something. Sorry, I really tried to like this but,I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
Wow! I made this last night and absolutely loved it. I used boneless chicken breasts and also added basil like someone else suggested, as well using LOTS of garlic. My boyfriend loved this dish; we will definitely be having it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This was ok. Not fabulous but my kids liked it. One recommendation was to use red wine vinegar instead of balsamic. I think I will try that next time. The cheese got too black, I would add it closer to the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I thought the recipe was great. I love the way the dish smells while its cooking. I chose to use chicken breast and look forward to trying it on a whole chicken very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
just fair for me...I did add the extra spices. Maybe I cooked it too long. I just had 3 large chicken breasts (no bones and no skin)...I added a little flour to the gravy after cooking to thicken it up a little
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States