Chicken Savoy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I've had the chicken at the Belmont Tavern, and flipped when I saw this recipe - YUM! However, a few tweaks - more garlic! :-) I didn't have time to marinate, so I lined the chicken up in a pan, poured some chicken broth in to cover the bottom, then lightly drizzled the chicken (I used legs) with olive oil. I then put some crushed garlic on each piece, then sprinkled oregano (lightly), and grated Romano (generously) over all - I then drizzled the chicken (lightly) with Balsamic vinegar - Halfway through the cooking time, I turned the chicken, and repeated the application of garlic, oregano, romano, and balsamic vinegar, adding more chicken broth to cover the pan. When the chicken was done cooking, it had a lovely dark brown sauce that I poured over the top of the chicken prior to serving. Just like the Belmont!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This recipe is not bad, however, Balsamic Vinigar is not used....it is made with Red Wine Vinigar that has carmalized while cooking. I know this because my friend is the head chef at Stretch's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Adding more chicken recipes to my repetoire doesn't happen too often, as how many do you need?Well, Chicken Savoy is the exception to the rule. My tweakings---I marinated the chicken all day in the oil,oregano, broth, 4 cloves crushed garlic, and 1/4 tsp. crushed pepper flakes. Under each piece of marinating chicken, I tucked a few peeled cloves of garlic. I "cheesed" the chicken from the beginning, and really enjoyed the crispy golden coating. Next time will experiment with the balsamic vinegar. Did you know that you can boil this vinegar down to a syrupy glaze. It becomes very sweet and thick. Going to do that next time. Thank you for sharing Joe, we really loved this dish. Cheers, Jeff P.S. 3rd. time preparing this dish, and all of the above still goes---but, now I only use chicken thighs. For each serving, I place 2 thighs on top of great mashed potatoes, and place a few whole garlic cloves in between the chicken pieces. I spoon some of the pan juices (not a lot though) around the edges of the mashed potato "bed". Lastly I drizzle the reduced "syrupy" balsamic vinegar on top. WOW is all I can say. Ummmmazing. Thanks again, Joe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Considering the few comments about this recipe being bland, I made some minor adjustments when I tried it. First, I used a very rich chicken stock - home made, simmered and reduced until it was golden brown. Second, I sprinked on a little basil along with the oragano. And finally, I used several whole garlic cloves instead of the crushed garlic. I served a garlic clove with each piece of chicken so my family could mash the garlic and spread a much or as little as they liked over their chicken. I lowered the temp and baked it just a little longer to allow the flavors to meld just a bit more. We LOVED this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I LOVED IT. ON MY DAY OFF I CUT UP THE CHICKEN AND PUT IT IN A ZIPLOCK WITH THE BROTH, GARLIC, OLIVE OIL AND OREGANO. WHEN I GOT HOME FROM WORK I JUST POURED IT INTO THE PAN SPRINKELED ON THE CHEESE. NO MESS. I THINK THAT IT ALSO MADE IT MORE TENDER TO MARINADE THIS WAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
This is one of my favorite chicken dishes. I've made it many times and everyone loves it. I alter the recipe just a bit. I marinate 8 boneless skinless breasts in about 1/3 cup balsamic vinegar, 1 Tbs olive oil, 8 cloves crushed garlic, oregano, salt and pepper. I slice some mushrooms and saute them a little bit of balsamic vinegar and garlic. I the cover the chicken breasts with the sauteed mushrooms and cheese, and then bake at 350 for about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
I marinated 8 boneless chicken breasts in 1/3 cup balsamic vinegar 8 cloves fresh garlic, the olive oil and the other spices, for about three hours. I then baked them at 375 degrees for about 40 minutes. Added fresh sauteed mushrooms on top then the cheese. Pretty tasty, and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Recently there has been a lot of talk about this chicken recipe. I had it saved to my box and was anxious to try it. Last night was the night. With such simple ingredients, how could the reviews be so different from one another? This is what I did. I used chicken breasts rather than the whole chicken because that's what I had on hand. In a dish, I drizzled the olive oil all over the chicken and made a rub of 3 minced garlic cloves, the oregano, salt and pepper. Rubbed that all over the chicken and carefully poured the stock over all. I let it sit for about 30 minutes to absorb the flavors. Then, in a heated cast iron skillet, I browned the herb crusted side for a few minutes til it had a nice brown. Turned it right side up, and poured the broth mixture over the top of the chicken. Coated the breasts with shaved parm/romano combo and baked it in the pan in a preheated 500 degree oven for about 20 minutes. Removed the breasts, added red wine vinegar instead of the balsamic, deglazed in the oven for 3 minutes and poured the finishing sauce on top of all. It was cooked perfectly and very moist and juicy. I served it with asparagus & angel hair pasta tossed with EVOO and garlic. 10 stars for taste, and 4 because I did not adhere to the actual directions. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
This is a meal worthy to serve to guests! If your looking for a new chicken recipe, this is certainly a worthy one to try. The chicken is moist and so flavorful, even my three year old loved it. The spices blend so well together, but they don't overpower the chicken and the cheese (I used what I had in the fridge, parmesan) added a wonderful touch. The chicken came out of the oven looking beautiful. My family of 6 all agrees that this is a keeper and I will certainly make when we have guest for dinner, and on our regular 'chicken' nights! Also, a big plus is how easy it is to prepare this meal. A lot of other chicken recipes take a lot of preparations and even require over night marinade, but this doesn't. And you probablly have all the ingredients on hand already. I served with rice pilaf and fresh green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
To be honest, the only thing I really liked was that the chicken was extremely moist...but that was it. The husband and I didn't really care for this, although we did eat it. I don't think that I will be making it again. Thanks for the post, anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States