Chicken Savoy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This recipe is not bad, however, Balsamic Vinigar is not used....it is made with Red Wine Vinigar that has carmalized while cooking. I know this because my friend is the head chef at Stretch's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Very Good! A favorite of my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This is delicious. Even if you've had the real thing at the Belmont Tavern in Bloomfield, or Stretch's in Livingston NJ, it's probably as close as you're gonna get. Without the vinegar it's just chicken, with the vinegar it's Savoy! A forever keeper, thanks for unlocking the secret of an old fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Very Nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Okay, I guess. I was expecting more. Pretty bland, I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
I was a little bit disappointed with this one, especially after reading all the glowing reviews. It wasn't that it was bad, simply boring and without flavor. It may be because I used skinless breasts instead of a whole chicken, but all the spices and flavor just seemed to slide right off of it. It wasn't a bad dinner, but not one I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Saint Clair, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Excellant flavor!! Make sure to use a quality vinegar. Served with Mashed Garlic Red Skin potatos.Yummy, Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I've had the chicken at the Belmont Tavern, and flipped when I saw this recipe - YUM! However, a few tweaks - more garlic! :-) I didn't have time to marinate, so I lined the chicken up in a pan, poured some chicken broth in to cover the bottom, then lightly drizzled the chicken (I used legs) with olive oil. I then put some crushed garlic on each piece, then sprinkled oregano (lightly), and grated Romano (generously) over all - I then drizzled the chicken (lightly) with Balsamic vinegar - Halfway through the cooking time, I turned the chicken, and repeated the application of garlic, oregano, romano, and balsamic vinegar, adding more chicken broth to cover the pan. When the chicken was done cooking, it had a lovely dark brown sauce that I poured over the top of the chicken prior to serving. Just like the Belmont!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Nice recipe for a baked chicken. Nice and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKGRRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Sooo easy and delicious.. I love great tasting food, and if it can be made with ease that makes it even better....Thanks for this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States