Chicken, Sausage and Zucchini Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
Excellent! I wouldn't change a thing! The only thing I did differently was to cook the sausage and chicken up separately, then cut it up. I then cooked the onion/green pepper mixture in a large pot in a small amount of oil. Once that was done, I added the cut up meat and the rest of the ingredients and simmered on low for approximately 30 - 40 mins. I then cooked the pasta and dished it up seperately then spooned the sauce mixture over top, instead of mixing it all together. Awesome recipe, Mary! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Definitely kid-friendly (except for the zucchini.) Lots of chopping, but it's worth it for a great mid-week meal. Makes tons of leftovers especially if you add extra ingredients (such as 3 half chicken breasts 0 then you don't have to freeze one), the whole pound of sausage, and the entire jar of spaghetti sauce! One problem: slicing raw sausage is difficult and the sausage oozes out of the casing. The bits get burned when browning. I recommend browning them whole and then slicing them. Also, I recommend cooking the onion and pepper mixture uncovered so the meat doesn't steam. I will definitely make this again with some changes in preparation! Thanks, Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMM104

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
My husband is a very picky eater. Wasn't sure if he would like this. He called it very addicting after his second helping. I made a few changes to the recipe, added fresh mushrooms, more garlic, used chilli ready tomatoes, added one Tablespoon of sugar, and left out the green peppers (yuk!) This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I liked this recipe....I really did. Just didnt love it. I dont see the need for two meats unless you happen to have some leftover chicken from the night before because it still tastes like a marinara pasta dish...The italian sausage will dominate any chicken flavor. Plus - why thaw two kinds of meat when one will suffice?? However - I had a ton of zuchini from my garden this year and I'm glad I tried this. Would make again and use one (or the other) meat. Thanks Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I found this recipe because the only vegetable in the fridge was zucchini! I followed the recipe with these exceptions; no green pepper, no sausage, no can of mushrooms. I used 3 chicken breasts. It was a surprisingly light meal. We were full but not stuffed. I think the lightness was due to the can of tomatoes mixed with the sauce. Refreshing hot meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
This was very good....I did make some changes for my family's taste. I did not use the zucchini or green pepper and I used some fresh sliced mushrooms instead of canned and a little more garlic. I also followed the advice of another reader and cooked the sausages whole and then sliced them, I may do that next time with the chicken as well. I used only one jar(26 oz)of sauce, which was plenty. When serving, I tossed about 1/2 of the sausage/chicken mixture with the pasta and served the remaining mixture on the side. With a loaf of italian bread and a salad and some parmesan cheese, this was a very nice meal. My family loved it. Thank you for sharing, Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I was running low on groceries and did not feel like going to the market. I searched with what ingredients I had and BAM, an amazing quick dinner. I keep frozen green peppers and onions in my freezer, so it kept the prep time down. I added fresh garlic and a can of mushrooms. I also used whole grain pasta. Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tish_bryant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
We loved this recipe. The only change I made was to leave out the spaghetti sauce and add just a little (1/3 of a cup or so) tomato sauce instead. Oh, and I also cooked the sausage separately at first, and drained out all the fat I could. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
really good! used spinach in place of zucchini and had turkey italian sausage on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Was okay but nothing special. Seemed like things were just globbed together without an overall "theme" for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States