Chicken Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
There is something off in this recipe ~ it just doesn't taste right as written! After reading through a multitude of reviews, there are to many consistent changes to the proportions. Will keep looking for a recipe more true to itself! Sorry....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
This recipe is a little off. It certainly does not taste like any satay I've had before. I followed the instructions exactly (after I scaled it down by exactly 1/2) and there were a couple problems with it. 1) The soy sauce was overpowering. I recommend using a light or low sodium soy sauce or diluting regular soy sauce with equal part water. 2) The peanut butter taste is almost non-existent. I recommend that the peanut butter be doubled to get a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
With the addition of 2 more tablespoons of peanut butter or "PBoy" as my 3yr old niece says, this marinate was truly delicious I pounded boneless skinless chicken breasts to 3/8in, marinated them overnight in this mixture, then baked them at 350 degrees for 35 minutes. Served with rice pilaf and asian coleslaw.The family thoroughly enjoyed this one. Its definitely a keeper,Kiera. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
I was surprised at how tasty this was. I altered it a bit and left out the garlic and hot sauce. Marinated the chicken about 5 hours then sauteed the chicken in the marinade. The marinade thickened and clung to the chicken. The only complaint I have using my version is the chicken was a tad salty even though I used low salt soy sauce. My husband declared it one of his favorites and I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I enjoyed this recipe. I cut the chicken into strips. I followed the advice of previous reviewers and reduced the amount of curry powder and soy sauce. I used about a tablespoon of curry powder and 1/3 cup of soy sauce instead. It was great with the Satay Sauce, which I found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
OK. So I make this recipe for the first time, thinking I'll enjoy it and can take some to work for lunch, right? The kids ate every piece before I could get to it. I had to make it again just to taste it myself and it was great!!!!! I use this recipe for almost every party/barbecue. Thanks for sharing such a adult and child friendly recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Delicious and fast! Serve with chopped cucumber and red onion mixed with a little lime juice. Also, works great on a George Foreman Grill with or without the skewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
Easy to make and nice results. I used more peanut butter and less curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
Wow. This was easy and looked impressive. Doubled the peanut butter and added extra garlic; it wasn't very spicy, so if you like it hot, definitely turn up the cumin. Marinated mine overnight and broiled for 5 min on each side - smelled great and turned out very moist and savory. This site is turning me into a culinary force to be reckoned with! My husband is pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs. walter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2000
I prepared these for a party I threw for my son's birthday. The crowd devoured them before I got to even try a bite. I guess they must have been good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States