Chicken Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I am not sure I would even give this a three star, but I think that at the core it would have been a good recipe. I made true to the recipe and wish I had listened to other reviewers and cut down on the soy sauce. This was SOOO salty I almost couldn't finish it. However it smelled amazing which I was cooking it. I think just cut down on the soy and use a lower sodium soy sauce at that would help this alot. I will try again and update if it is any better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Really good recipe. Loved the tanginess of the lemon. I froze them on skewers and they thawed and cooked up just as good. Only problem is finding a good peanut sauce to go with it. I cooked these on skewers on a stove top grill. I love those grills, perfect for this kind of meal where you don't want to start up the whole BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I used the lemon juice instead of lime and after mixing it all together I found this maranade way too tangy. I tried adding double PB but it was still no good. I'm only rating this a 2 instead of 1 because I didn't bother to use this, it went down the drain, I didn't want to waste my chicken too. So I really never gave it a good chance. Good thing I bought the store maranade as back up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was pretty good. It is a bit more Indian inspired that other chicken satays I have tasted. The curry flavor and color was kind of strong. Instead of the grill I just put them on a foil lined baking sheet in the broiler for 12 minutes turning every 3 minutes. Although, I think they would have been even better grilled. The other downside is I didn't think they tasted very great when heated up. The texture turned real rubbery and I am dependent on warmed up food. I think though this would be best eaten, when just made, with some rice and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Tastes more Indian than Thai. I suggest reducing the amount of curry and lemon/lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
pain in the butt to make. Buy BIG leg thigh quarters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
What a find! This is REALLY GOOD!!!! Thank you I wouldn't change anything, I'm eating it with rice, wish I had some nice veggies like zucchini etc. YUM, Can't wait to bring this to potlucks and bbqs!!!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceejay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Great recipe! I made this exactly as written for my picky 10 year old daughter's birthday. I have made satay many times before, but have never added curry. Great twist on the taste. My daughter who grumps about eating anything at all(especially "spicy" food), loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Davidsonville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Made this last weekend and was pretty happy with it. I did double the peanut butter and I still feel I could have added a bit more as I felt it was a bit lost still. Next time I will cut down on the curry powder as it was a bit overwhelming. All in all though it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swbohning

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Made this for my husband who loves the Thai's Chicken Satay. He liked this better, I did make the Peanut Sauce from this website for dipping. The entire family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 447) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States